Kane appointed Sunrisers Hyderabad captain

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson has been appointed as the captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad for the 2018’s Indian Premier League (IPL).

The decision comes in the wake of the recent ball-tampering controversy that led to bans for David Warner and Steven Smith from the 11th edition of IPL.

Warner and Smith had earlier stepped down from their leadership positions at SunRisers and Rajasthan Royals respectively, with the Jaipur-based franchise appointing Ajinkya Rahane as their skipper in place of the beleaguered Australia captain. Both franchises are yet to name the respective replacements for the banned Australian duo.

Also Read - Smith breaks down in tears at press conference

Following Cricket Australia’s ruling on the players, the Supreme Court-appointed Committee of Administrators, in consultation with the BCCI’s acting president CK Khanna, IPL chairman Rajeev Shukla and BCCI’s acting Hon. secretary Amitabh Choudhary, decided to bar the duo from participating in the 2018 edition of the IPL.

The New Zealand batsman made his IPL debut against Chennai Super Kings in the 2015 edition, and has since played 15 games, scoring 411 runs including three fifties, at an average of 31.62, with a strike rate of 129.25.

Kane said on Twitter: “I’ve accepted the role to stand in as captain for this season. It’s an exciting opportunity with a talented group of players. I look forward to the challenges ahead.”

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Baahubali’s Prabhas or Warner?

No Stokes, Bumrah in Ian Bishop’s ODI XI of the decade

‘I don’t see any problem with it’ – Starc on IPL

I disagree with that: Dhawan replies to Warner

Rashid omits Smith, Williamson in World XI, picks two Indians