Kane Williamson wins Sir Richard Hadlee Medal

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson has been awarded the Sir Richard Hadlee medal for the fourth time in six years on Tuesday (April 13).

Kane Williamson wins Sir Richard Hadlee Medal

The honour comes following the Kiwi captain’s incredible home Test summer as he scored a whopping 639 runs in just four innings at an average of 159, which ensured his side a place in the final of the ICC World Test Championship. Overall, the Kiwis won 17 out of 20 matches they played during the summer, and claimed all seven series.

Also Read - Rajasthan's Chetan Sakariya names Pakistan's Junaid Khan as his idol

During his unforgettable run of batting, Williamson first achieved his career-best knock of 251 against the West Indies in Hamilton, that too in bowling friendly condition, and then followed it up followed it up with another double hundred versus Pakistan in Christchurch. In-between he also got a Boxing Day Test century on his home ground of Bay Oval in Tauranga.

“Going into the Test summer — there was that Championship Final carrot and there was a real drive there for the guys. Although it seemed a long way off, winning four tests before you’ve started one is a pretty lofty goal and we knew we just had to try and play as well as we could and commit to what was in front of us,” said Williamson in an official NZC release.

“Although it seemed a long way off, winning four Tests before you’ve started one is a pretty lofty goal. To spend some time at the crease personally and make contributions towards that, certainly proud as a leader and a player in this side that we were able to achieve some of those things and we’re looking forward to that final.”

Meanwhile, Devon Conway was named ODI and T20I Player of the Year at the New Zealand Cricket (NZC) Awards, 2020-21.

Conway grabbed the T20I honour beating the likes of Glenn Phillip, Tim Southee and Ish Sodhi. He made a wonderful debut this season, scoring 473 runs at an average of 59.12. He was also instrumental in New Zealand’s winning every T20I series in the summer.

The left-hander also scored 27, 72 and 126 in the three ODI innings he played against Bangladesh to bag the ODI Player of the Year as well.

21-year-old Finn Allen won the Super Smash Player of the Year in the men’s category, while Kyle Jamieson was given the Windsor Cup for first-class bowling.

Amelia Kerr won the Super Smash and International T20 Player of the Year in the women’ category, while skipper Amy Satterthwaite achieved the Women’s ODI Player of the Year award.

Related Articles

Boult to return home as NZ players begin IPL exit

Jayawickrama breaks into top 50 in ICC Test rankings

Who is replacing him; Sachin/Lara, Sir Garfield, Sir Viv: Kartik on Warner

Buttler ton leads Rajasthan to 55-run win against SRH

Twitter slams SRH for sacking Warner as their captain