Khawaja shines as Aussies keep up their winning momentum ahead of WC

Australia win their second warm-up match with ease by 5 wickets against Sri Lanka after an another superb performance from their bowlers and the opener Usman Khawaja at Southampton on Monday, May 27.

Smith and Marsh
Australia’s Steve Smith, left, laughs as he plays in the slips during the Cricket World Cup warm-up match between Australia and Sri Lanka at the Hampshire Bowl in Southampton, England, Monday, May 27, 2019.

Batting first, Sri Lanka lost their captain Dimuth Karunaratne early in the innings. But the other opener, Lahiru Thirimanne who opened the innings in replace of Avishka Fernando looked promising. On the other hand, Kusal Perera also followed the captain as he got out by scoring just 12 runs. Meanwhile, Thirimanne picked up his half-century before he got out by scoring 56 runs.

After that, wickets were shattering in the regular interval and no one played a big innings. At the end, Dhananjaya de Silva (43 off 41) and Thisara Perera (27 off 33) helped Sri Lanka to manage a suitable score of 239 runs.

Also Read - One lakh women bought ICC World Cup 2019 tickets: ICC

Spinner Adam Zampa took 2 wickets for Australia whereas Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Kane Richardson, Glenn Maxwell, Nathan Lyon and Steve Smith took 1 wicket each.

Chasing the target of 240 runs, captain Aaron Finch got out early for the straight second match by scoring just 11 runs. But the other opener Usman Khawaja and Shaun Marsh chopped up 80 runs in the second wicket and made the match easy for Australia.

Khawaja scored 89 runs off 105 balls while Marsh scored 34 runs off 46 balls. At the end, Glenn Maxwell (36 off 36) and Marcus Stoinis (32 off 30) played a well-timed innings and helped Australia to win the match by 5 wickets with 5 overs in hand. Jeffrey Vandersay took 2 wickets for Sri Lanka.

Australia rested David Warner, Nathan Coulter-Nile and Jason Behrendorff and while Sri Lanka rested their two pacer- Lasith Malinga and Isuru Udana for the match.

Australia will start their World Cup campaign against Afghanistan on June 1 in Bristol while Sri Lanka will start their World Cup campaign against New Zealand on the same day in Cardiff.

Australia XII: Aaron Finch, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Kane Richardson, Nathan Lyon, Adam Zampa.

Sri Lanka XIII: Kusal Perera, Dimuth Karunaratne, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Jeevan Mendis, Milinda Siriwardana, Thisara Perera, Jeffrey Vandersay, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Avishka Fernando.

Brief Scorecard:

Sri Lanka 239-8 (50 overs)

Lahiru Thirimanne 56 (69), Dhananjaya de Silva 43 (41)

Adam Zampa 2/39, Steve Smith 1/9

Australia 241-5 (44.5 overs)

Usman Khawaja 89 (105), Glenn Maxwell 36 (36)

Jeffrey Vandersay 2/51, Dhananjaya de Silva 1/17

Toss: Sri Lanka won the toss, elected to bat first

Result: Australia won by 5 wickets


Related Articles

Best ODI XI of 2020

Australia end India’s winning streak with a handy win

Finch, Smith fire Australia to handsome win

Once he’s off the park, he’s the most chilled guy: Zampa’s RCB moments with Kohli

Watch: Australia take a hilarious DRS for an lbw appeal