Kieron Pollard to lead Irfan Pathan’s IPL 2020 Team of the Tournament

Pathan picks 'Farewell XI'for recently retired India cricketers

The former Indian all-rounder Irfan Pathan has picked his IPL team of the tournament. The 13th edition of the tournament came to an end when the Mumbai Indians defeated the Delhi Capitals by 5 wickets.

The Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai Indians became the first team to win the trophy five times. They also became the second team after Chennai Super Kings to defend the IPL title.

Also Read - Bangabandhu T20 Cup 2020: Gemcon Khulna announce their captain

Coming to Irfan’s team, he did not pick any player from Kolkata Knight Riders, Sunrisers Hyderabad and Chennai Super Kings. The all-rounder picked three players each from Delhi Capitals and Mumbai Indians, two each from Kings XI Punjab and Royal Challengers Bangalore and one from Rajasthan Royals.

The Baroda-born cricketer named KL Rahul and Shikhar Dhawan as his openers and missed out David Warner due to only four overseas slots.

“KL Rahul for sure and along with him Shikhar Dhawan. I cannot include David Warner as we can have only 4 overseas players,” Pathan said.

At number three, he picked Suryakumar Yadav who has shown his brilliant form in the recently concluded IPL. The backbone of RCB, AB de Villiers will bat at number four in Irfan Pathan’s team.

“The way Suryakumar Yadav played his knocks, we always say that his average is very good, but the strike rate at which he played was the best part, and he was winning them the matches, so I will definitely go with him,” said Pathan.

“AB de Villiers – his strike rate was very good this year as well. You expect him to score a lot of runs, but this year as well, he won RCB matches; you remember the match against Rajasthan Royals where they (RCB) needed 35 runs in two overs, and he won the match from there. Apart from that also, he played some wonderful knocks,” he added.

At number five, he picked Kieron Pollard and made him as captain as well. He had to miss out Hardik Pandya who has not bowled a single ball in the last edition of IPL. Irfan chose Marcus Stoinis and Rahul Tewatia as his finishers.

“I will have Kieron Pollard to bat at No.5, and he will also be the captain of my team. I had the option of Hardik, but he is not bowling and Pollard will give me the bowling as well as captaincy. He is an amazing fielder, so I will get a three-dimensional player,” reasoned Pathan.

“At No.6, I will have Marcus Stoinis, who will give me the bowling as well. He was in the amazing form (during IPL 2020) and played spin also well. I will have Rahul Tewatia at No.7 because he was the only Indian player who comes on the list of players who scored 200 runs and took ten wickets.”

“If we talk about the entire history of the IPL, there are only 10-12 Indian players who have achieved this feat. He also won two matches on his own and bowled brilliantly as well,” he added.

For the bowling lineup, he picked up three pacers and a spinner. Kagiso Rabada, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammad Shami were the three pacers while Yuzvendra Chahal was the only specialist spinner in the side. The all-rounder had to miss Rashid Khan as the overseas slots were filled.

Here is Irfan Pathan’s Team of the Tournament:

KL Rahul (wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Suryakumar Yadav, AB de Villiers, Kieron Pollard (c), Marcus Stoinis, Rahul Tewatia, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kagiso Rabada, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami.


Related Articles

Imran Khan beats Virat Kohli in ICC poll

Shoaib Akhtar makes a shocking remark on AB de Villiers

Hogg names his Test XI of the decade

Harsha picks Stokes, Shakib in ODI XI of the decade

Sobers congratulates Kohli