Kings XI Punjab slams Delhi Daredevils by 6 wicket win

Kings XI Punjab kicked off their mission of the Indian Premier League 2018 with a brawling win against Delhi Daredevils; at the Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali, the home team emerged with a 6 wicket win chasing down 166 runs.

Kings XI Punjab slams Delhi Daredevils by 6 wicket win

The Kings XI Punjab innings is powered by two half centuries – the first one from opener Lokesh Rahul and then Karun Nair also tipped off the mark, leaving 7 balls to spare from the total 20 overs to win the match.

Also Read - Rahul slams fastest IPL fifty

The mere uncertainty that was hovering in the sky of Kings XI Punjab was diluted by David Miller and Marcus Stoinis, both of them were unbeaten scoring 24 and 22 runs respectively.

In the first half of the second match of this year’s IPL, Gautam Gambhir who is playing for Delhi Daredevils for the first time led the team scoring 166 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in their allotted 20 overs.

Ravichandran Ashwin, who is leading a T20 side for the first time said after the match that although he was bit nervous going for the toss, felt lesser pressure after winning the match.

Brief Score:
Delhi Daredevils 166/7 (20 overs)
Gautam Gambhir 55, Rishabh Pant 28, Chris Morris 27
Mohit Sharma 2/33, Mujeeb Ur Rahman 2/28, Ravichandran Ashwin 1/23

Kings XI Punjab 167/4 (18.5 overs)
Lokesh Rahul 51, Karun Nair 50, David Miller 24*
Daniel Christian 1/12, Rahul Tewati 1/24, Chris Morris 1/25

Result: Kings XI Punjab won by 6 wickets.
Player of the match: Lokesh Rahul.
Toss: Kings XI Punjab

Related Articles

Samuels retires from all forms of cricket

Aakash Chopra picks all time best Delhi Capital XI

Delhi refused to pick Kohli in team despite getting chance in IPL auction

Shami reveals weak zone of Kohli of getting him out

Delhi Daredevils renamed as Delhi Capitals