Klaasen to lead Proteas in Pakistan T20Is

Cricket South Africa has named an undermined squad for three T20Is against Pakistan. Heinrich Klaasen will be leading the side.

Klaasen to lead Proteas in Pakistan T20Is
Heinrich Klaasen will lead a depleted SA side. ©Getty Images


Top players including Test captain Quinton de Kock will head back home after two Tests in Pakistan. This is to satisfy COVID-19 protocols in South Africa.

Also Read - Five cricketers released from SL Test squad

South Africa are also expected to host Australia for three Test matches in April.

“The COVID-19 pandemic has compelled sporting bodies to find innovative ways of ensuring tours and sporting events take place as planned or with as little disruption to revised plans as possible. We are not exempt from that, and have had to do a bit of outside-of-the-box thinking to ensure that we are fully prepared for a home Test tour against Australia, while having an exciting T20 series to compete in, in Pakistan,” CSA director Graeme Smith said.

“We’re in the final stages of concluding plans for how the coaching and support staff will also be managed for the two tours. We will share those details when they have been finalized.

“It’s an example of the measures that some cricket nations will have to put in place to ensure that they can squeeze more than one tour in a period of three or four months, while fulfilling COVID-19 protocol obligations.

“The circumstances we find ourselves in allow the National Selection Panel to cast a wide net and give some of the young and exciting talent that has been in the their sights the opportunity of a lifetime in a T20 World Cup year.”

South Africa will play the two Tests in Karachi and Rawalpindi, starting from January 26 and February 4 respectively. Dwaine Pretorius, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lutho Sipamla and George Linde are four members from Test squad who will stay for three T20Is.

Lahore will host the T20Is on February 11, 13 and 14.

South Africa T20I squad: Heinrich Klaasen (captain), Nandre Burger, Okuhle Cele, Junior Dala, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, George Linde, Janneman Malan, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Ryan Rickleton, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lutho Sipamla l, Jon-Jon Smuts, Pite van Biljon, Glenton Stuurman, Jacques Snyman

Related Articles

Pakistan to visit South Africa after Australia’s postponement

CSA shoots frustration over CA’s decision to scrap tour

de Kock named new Proteas Test captain

South Africa confirm first Pakistan tour since 2007

Australia’s Test series in South Africa may move to Perth