Knight Riders bag playoff spot

Kolkata Knight Riders are the third team to seal a spot in the playoffs of Indian Premier League 2018. They have handed a five-wicket loss to Surisers Hyderabad at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Uppal, Hyderabad in match No.54.


Sunrisers chose to bat first. They made three changes to their XI including dropping Alex Hales for Carlos Brathwaite.

Also Read - How Mustafizur discovered Russell's weakness

Shreevats Goswami was promoted to open the innings with Shikhar Dhawan. Goswami initially survived a caught out on DRS. He stepped on the gas since then. He hammered 26-ball 35 runs in a 79-run stand.

SRH were in control against KKR as runs were coming easily. Dhawan brought up his half-century. He made 50 runs off 39 balls with 5 fours and a six. Kane Williamson eclipsed as this season’s highest run-scorer. The Hyderabad skipper made 17-ball 36 hitting one four 3 sixes.

There wasn’t much contribution from the middle-order. Manish Pandey played 22 balls for 25 runs. Shakib Al Hasan hit two boundaries in his short 10 off 7.

Four wickets fell in the last over bowled by Prasidh Krishna including one run out. Sunrisers posted 172/9 in 20 overs. Prasidh bagged four for 30.

In reply, Chris Lynn and Sunil Narine gave KKR a much-needed flying start adding 52 in just 3.4 overs. Narine fell to Shakib for the second time in this tournament. After hitting his old teammate for a 4 and 6, he was caught at long-on by Pandey. He scored 29 off 10 with 4 fours and 2 sixes.

Lynn and Robin Uthappa kept charging the SRH bowlers in quest to playoff spot. They added 67 runs for the second-wicket. Lynn hit 55 runs off 43 balls comprising  4 fours and 3 sixes. Uthappa made 34-ball 43 hitting 3 fours and 2 sixes.

Skipper Dinesh Karthik’s 26* off 22 saw KKR finish the game in the last over. The visiting side won by 5 wickets with two balls to spare. Karthik. Sidharth Kaul and Brathwaite took two wickets each for SRH.

One team from RR, KXIP and MI will qualify for the last spot.

Watch Shakib’s wicket here-


Brief scores:

Sunrisers Hyderabad 172/9 in 20 overs (Dhawan 50, Williamson 36; Prasidh 4/30, Narine 1/23)

Kolkata Knight Riders 173/5 in 19.4 overs (Lynn 55, Uthappa 45; Brathwaite 2/21 Kaul 2/26)

Kolkata Knight Riders won by 5 wickets

Man of the Match: Chris Lynn

Related Articles

A Fan Asked Mayanti Langer For A Date, She Gave A Heart-Winning Reply!

IPL 2018: 3 captaincy replacement options available for RCB

IPL 2018: Best XI of the tournament

Watch Shakib’s performance in IPL final

Rampage Watson gives CSK 3rd IPL title