Kohli-Gayle controversy comes to end

All sports around the world are currently closed due to coronavirus. There are no international matches for the cricket fans for a long time. However, ESPNcricinfo poll took the social media by storm even during this gremlin season for the fans.

Kohli-Gayle controversy comes to end

Recently, popular cricket website ESPNcricinfo hosted a poll of the best T20 players. Where the best players in T20 cricket will be decided by voting. Two popular cricketers, Virat Kohli and Chris Gayle faced off in the voting in the quarter-finals of this poll. The T20 record of these two is outstanding. So, it was already though that it would be a nail-biting quarter-final.

Also Read - I thought about committing suicide three times: Mohammad Shami

But no one could have imagined that the outcome of the vote would be so close. Chris Gayle has reached the semifinals of the fight to be the best player in T20 in the votes of fans. Kohli lost by slightest margin. Kohli got a total of 65,593 votes. Gayle got 65,647 votes. But the real story began after the results were announced.

Kohli’s supporters have declared fight on Twitter. Their claim is that Kohli was ahead till the end of the poll. It is unethical to declare Gayle the winner despite Kohli being ahead. Kohli’s fans claim that ESPNcricinfo has lost their acceptance through this poll. They are presenting their evidence showing that Kohli was ahead till the last moment.

Finally, ESPNcricinfo has accepted the defeat and responded to the movement of the fans. They tweeted yesterday about the incident. According to them, the problem was due to a mechanical fault. They admit their mistakes. At the same time, they stated that since it’s determined by the vote of the fans, they will vote again.

As a result, the quarter-final of Kohli vs Gayle has started again. This vote will continue till the 4th of May.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Akash Chopra picks all time best CPL XI

Test cricket is the ultimate: Gayle

Gayle to miss CPL 2020

Gayle cried in Sachin’s farewell match

Dhawal Kulkarni reveals current best IPL XI