Kohli to felicitate BCCI chief curator before Mohali T20I

BCCI chief curator Daljit Singh’s services to Indian cricket is unmatched and he takes charge at the Punjab Cricket Association Stadium in Mohali for one last time on Wednesday. For his immense contribution, he will be felicitated by the Indian team captain Virat Kohli.

Kohli to felicitate BCCI chief curator before Mohali T20I
Virat Kohli with BCCI pitch curator

Speaking to news agency IANS, a senior board functionary added that a small memorable felicitation has been planned for Daljit Singh who has been working beyond the bounds of possibility behind the scenes in a bid to prepare some top-quality pitches across the country for the last 22 years.

“While he has retired from the BCCI’s pitch committee, the Mohali game is his last and it was decided by the board that he will be felicitated by the Indian skipper at the start of the game for his invaluable services,” the functionary added in a statement.

Also Read - PSL: PCB incurs huge loss in millions

Having been an integral part of Board of Control for Cricket in India’s pitch committee since 2012, Daljit made sure that the bent towards preparing quality pitches to adapt the home team has been totally replaced by the new concept of making sporting pitches.

A chief curator of one of the international stadiums in India added that it was solely because of Daljit that youngsters were able to enter the system and learn much about the art of preparing good wickets.

“In 2012, when he became the chairman he started certification courses and we had a 21-day workshop wherein theoretical and practical knowledge was imparted to us. For the first time, we had a curators’ manual and that meant that youngsters had something in black and white that they could follow. He wanted curators to be given the same respect as match officials,” the curator was quoted as saying by IANS.

Another curator echoed that Daljit was quite remarkable in ensuring that tampering of pitches are done away with during domestic tourneys, especially in the Ranji Trophy.

“He was the one who suggested the idea of neutral curators. But he was a visionary who knew that a West Zone curator would have issues working in North Zone as he wouldn’t be aware of the soil composition. So he also ensured that curators were appointed in their respective zones. He was an institution in himself and will be missed,” the curator said.

Update: India have won the toss and opted to bowl first


South Africa (Playing XI):

Quinton de Kock(w/c), Reeza Hendricks, Temba Bavuma, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Bjorn Fortuin, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi

India (Playing XI):

Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli(c), Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant(w), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Rohit nominated for Khel Ratna award

Australia tour hasn’t finalized yet: BCCI

Sangakkara against hosting T20 World Cup this year

Only few are brave: Kohli wishes Shastri on his birthday

Ganguly can’t be BCCI president anymore, says Gupta