Kohli to fly back home after Adelaide Test

Indian skipper Virat Kohli will the last three Tests against Australia as he wants to be with his spouse on the arrival of their first baby.

Rumours about Virat-Anushka divorce, #VirushkaDivorce trends on twitter

Indian Cricket Team will be traveling to Australia straight after the end of the ongoing Indian Premier League. Already players from franchisees who are not playing playoffs found themselves into the biosecurity bubble of the Indian Cricket Team. The tour will be India’s first outing after a long gap due to the coronavirus pandemic around the world.

Also Read - Varun Chakravaty ruled out of Australia tour, replacement announced

Meanwhile, Indian skipper Virat Kohli and his spouse Anushka Sharma are expecting their first baby by the end of December or by the start of next year. Earlier some reports suggested that the Indian skipper had requested BCCI on flying back home in the middle of the Test series against Australia.

Now BCCI officially confirmed that the Indian captain will fly back home after the Adelaide Test, which is the first of the four Tests to be played. According to BCCI’s media statement, Kohli informed about this during the selection committee meeting held on October 26 and now the committee has given a green signal to the Indian captain.

“At the selection committee meeting held on October 26th, 2020, Mr Virat Kohli had informed the BCCI about his plans to return to India after the first Test in Adelaide. The BCCI has granted paternity leave to the Indian captain. He will return after the first Test against Australia in Adelaide,” the statement read.

In the absence of Virat Kohli, right-handed batsman Ajinkya Rahane is expected to lead the team for the major part of the series. Also, Rohit Sharma has been added to the Test side after assessing his fitness. To give more healing time, he has been excluded from the limited-overs squad. Further, Ishant Sharma will be added to the squad after further assessment of his fitness.

Here are the updated squads:

Team India T20I squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (vice-captain and wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, T Natarajan.

Team India ODI squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (vice-captain & wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper).

Team India Test squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Mohd. Siraj.

Related Articles

India kickstart T20I series with a comprehensive win

Watch: Langer involves in heated argument with match referee over Jadeja’s concussion substitute

India cruise to a thrilling win in dead rubber

Kohli finishes a century-less year in ODIs after 11 years

Finch names three alternative openers to replace Warner