Latham-Taylor star New Zealand to dominating win

Taylor pulls a delivery

New Zealand have started the three match ODI series with a dominating win over the hosts India by 7 wickets in the first ODI. 

Indian skipper Virat Kohli elected to bat first after winning the toss and the start wasn’t good enough as they lost two early wicket. But skipper Virat Kohli led the team from the front as usual and with yet another hundred he helped India to post 280  in their 50 overs.

Also Read - Bangladesh ends ODI series with big defeat

Virat Kohli’s 121 was the highest score for India and for New Zealand, seamer Trent Boult picked up 4 wickets and Tim Southee picked up 3 wickets.

In reply, New Zealand lost 3 wickets under 100 but since then the match started to took a turn completely after Ross Taylor and Tom Latham started to build partnership. 

Their massive 200 runs partnership helped New Zealand to win comfortably by 6 wickets in the end. Latham remained unbeaten for 103 while Taylor departed for 95 when the scores were level. With this win, New Zealand lead the 3 match series 1-0. 

Brief Score: 

  • IND 280/8 (50 ov) | Kohli 121 (125) | Boult 4/35, Southee 3/73
  • NZ 284/4 (49 ov) | Latham 103*(102), Taylor 95 (100) | Hardik 1/46

Result: New Zealand won by 4 wickets

Related Articles

Pune curator banned due to pitch tampering 

Mithali leads India to semifinal of Women’s WC 2017

Formidable India earn convincing victory over Kiwis in warm-up