Lewis and Hetmyer dropped, Bravo recalled for Sri Lanka ODIs

Cricket West Indies (CWI) have announced 15-man squad on Monday (February 3th) for the upcoming three ODIs and two T20Is series against Sri Lanka.

Lewis, Hetmyer dropped, Bravo recalled for Sri Lanka ODIs

Shimron Hetmyer and Evin Lewis were not included in the squad due to fitness problems. Darren Bravo had been recalled to the squad. All-rounder Rovman Powell and spin bowling all-rounder Fabian Allen were also included in the team.

Also Read - 'They played like kids'- Shoaib Akhtar on New Zealand's awful performance

Evin Lewis and Shimron Hetmyer missed out due to the fact that they came up short in the fitness test,” said Roger Harper, CWI’s lead selector. “They will be missed.”

“Lewis was the group’s best batsman in the last series against Ireland where he batted with extraordinary self-control and demonstrated the bedrock for the group’s series win. Hetmyer gave off an impression of being starting to act responsibly and was a basic part of the team’s batting group.

“I look forward to the team building on its recent performances against Afghanistan and India in the subcontinent and against Ireland at home – playing consistent, smart cricket to win the series. Sri Lanka are a generally excellent group in their own conditions. I don’t anticipate that it should be easy yet our group has indicated that it is very capable.”

West Indies will fly to Sri Lanka next Saturday (February 8). They will play two warm-up matches on February 17 and 20. The main series will begin with a one-day match on February 22.

West Indies squad:

Kieron Pollard (c), Fabian Allen, Sunil Ambris, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Jason Holder, Shai Hope (wk), Alzari Joseph, Brandon King, Kimo Paul, Romario Shepherd, Nicholas Pooran, Rovman Powell and Hayden Walsh Jr.

Related Articles

Bravo uncertain for next match, yet coach happy with Curran

IPL 2020: Chennai Super Kings’ Predicted XI Against Mumbai Indians

Rashid Khan makes another history as fastest and youngest bowler

Akash Chopra picks all time best CPL XI

CPL to held between August 18-September 10