Malan-Morgan-Parkison star in destructive English win over New Zealand

England beat New Zealand by a big margin of 76 runs in the fourth match of the five-match Twenty20 series with the help of stormy innings from Dawid Malan and captain Eoin Morgan.

Malan-Morgan-Parkison star as England clinch a destructive win over Kiwis

After the fiery innings from Malan and Morgan, spinner Matt Parkinson’s four wicket gave England a thumping 76-run win and with that win they levelled the series by 2-2.

Also Read - Watch: Rohit looses cool on the third umpire

Batting first, England made 241 runs for 3 wickets in 20 overs. In reply, New Zealand made 165 runs, losing all wickets in 16.5 overs.

English opener Tom Banton was dismissed for 30 off 20 balls. Other opener Jonny Bairstow was dismissed for just 8 runs before that. Then Malan and Morgan added 182 runs in third wicket which had been the highest third-wicket partnership for England in the shortest format of the game. Malan remained unbeaten on 103 runs for which he played 51 balls. His innings consisted of 9 fours and 6 sixes.

Morgan scored 91 runs off 41 balls before being out in the last over of the innings. His explosive innings made of seven fours and seven sixes. Morgan scored the fastest half-century in the T20 for England and Malan made the fastest century. Morgan scored fifty by just 21 balls while Malan picked up the century by just 48 balls. He played just 17 balls to reach the hundred from fifty.

Kiwi captain Tim Southee took one wicket and spinner Mitchell Santner got two wickets.

Chasing the huge target of 242 runs, New Zealand opener Martin Guptill (27 off 14) and Colin Munro (30 off 21) started well but after the openers got out New Zealand were never in winning position. Colin de Grandhomme (7), Ross Taylor (14), Santner (10) all got out without scoring any significant run. Stand-in skipper Tim Southee scored 39 runs off 15 balls with two fours and four sixes.

Parkinson got four wickets for 47 runs in 4 overs for the English. Chris Jordan got two, Sam Curran one, Tom Curran one and Pat Brown also got one wicket each.

The two teams will face off in the final and fifth match of the series at Auckland on Sunday.


England 241-3 (20 overs)

Dawid Malan 103* (51), Eoin Morgan 91 (41)

Mitchell Santner 2/32, Tim Southee 1/47

New Zealand 165-10 (16.5 overs)

Tim Southee 39 (15), Colin Munro 30 (21)

Matt Parkinson 4/47, Chris Jordan 2/24

Toss: New Zealand, opted to field first

Result: England won by 76 runs

Man of the match: Dawid Malan

Related Articles

Munro looks to set his future plan for upcoming years

Akash Chopra picks all time best CPL XI

Jamieson, Conway earn NZC contracts as Munro, Raval lose deals

Munro talks about his brilliant run-out by Virat Kohli

KL Rahul creates a new world record in T20I series against Kiwis