Malinga to lead Sri Lankan T20I squad against New Zealand

Sri Lankan cricket board named 15-men squad for the T20I series against New Zealand which starts on September 1st.

Sri Lanka clean sweep Bangladesh

New Zealand and Sri Lanka have started their Test Championship with the three match Test series in Sri Lanka. The hosts are leading the series after a comprehensive win in the first Test at Galle.

Also Read - Watch: Archer dismissed in a bizarre way

Following the Test series, Sri Lanka will host the visitors for a three match T20I series which will start on September 1st. Ahead of the series, Sri Lankan Cricket Board has named a new looking 15-member squad which will be led by Lasith Malinga.

Major decision in the announcement is that Angelo Mathews and Thisara Perera have been left out of the squad. Suranga Lakmal and Dhananjaya de Silva have also been omitted from the 15-man squad. Niroshan Dickwella will be the deputy for Lasith Malinga.

Akila Dananjaya has been added to the squad despite being reported for the suspect bowling action during the first Test at Galle. It was announced by ICC that he has to undergo a test within two weeks along with New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson.

Sri Lanka squad: Lasith Malinga (C), Niroshan Dickwella, Avishka Fernando, Kusal Perera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Shehan Jayasuriya, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Akila Dananjaya, Lakshan Sandakan, Isuru Udana, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Lahiru Madushanka.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Akila Dananjaya suspended from bowling for 12 months

Akila Dananjaya was prepared for assessing bowling action

Akila Dananjaya more worried about his cricket career

Akila Dananjaya preparing for tests in Chennai

Dananjaya, Williamson reported for suspect bowling action