Mashrafe joins 50 club in BPL

Mashrafe joins 50 club in BPL

Mashrafe Bin Mortaza has become the fifth bowler in Bangladesh Premier League T20 history to take 50 wickets. He has achieved the milestone in the Qualifier 2 against Comilla Victorians in Mirpur. [বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ রেকর্ড বইয়ে নাম লেখালেন মাশরাফি]

Opposition captain Tamim Iqbal came down the wicket to hit Rangpur Riders captain Mashrafe over mid-off. Sohag Gazi successfully grabbed the ball to send back Tamim for 36. That was his only wicket in the match.

Also Read - Comilla Victorians receive show cause notice

Mashrafe required only one wicket to complete his half-century with the ball. Among other four, only two Bangladeshis – Shakib Al Hasan and Shafiul Islam had achieved 50 wickets in BPL.

However, the first bowler to take 50 wickets in BPL was West Indian seamer Kevon Cooper. Only he and Shakib had more than 50 wickets before the start of this edition.

Comilla’s Afghanistan recruit Mohammad Nabi and Khulna Titans’ Shafiul previously became the third and fourth bowlers respectively to take 50 BPL wickets.

Shakib is the leading wicket-taker in all BPL seasons with 82 scalps. Cooper is second with 63 and Shafiul third with 54 wickets. Nabi and Mashrafe have 50 each.


-Ruffin, Correspondent,

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

New domestic T20 league to be arranged with Premier League teams

Al-Amin Hossain accused of illegal bowling action

BCB longs to own production rights of next BPL

Tamim might face punishment for violating rules of contract

Gayle to play for Rangpur Riders in BPL 2018