Miraz 10 in match, Khulna win hat-trick title

Khulna Division have won record sixth National Cricket League championship as they beat Dhaka Division by an innings and 49 runs in the final round at BKSP-3, Savar. [বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ রেকর্ড গড়ে খুলনার হ্যাটট্রিক শিরোপা জয়!]

Miraz 10 in match, Khulna win hat-trick title

Khulna bowled Dhaka out for 297 runs in 99.5 overs in the second innings on day four. The Tier-1 toppers took six wickets in the morning session to win the title. Dhaka were 169/4 after day three.

Also Read - Boult seven-for wins series for NZ

Mehidy Hasan Miraz, who took a seven-for in the first innings, took the wickets of Taibur Rahman (51) and Rony Taluldar (0) in the morning. Nadif Chowdhury and skipper Mohammad Sharif put on 57 for the seventh wicket. Nadif made 43 while Sharif scored 61-ball 47 with 6 fours and a six.

The game was soon over after both Nadif and Sharif departed in quick succession. In the end they were dismissed before the lunch break.

Miraz took three wickets for 89 runs in 32.5 overs. He took 10 for 113 in the match, his third ten-wicket haul in a first-class match. Rubel Hossain also struck thrice. Captain Abdur Razzak took two while Mustafizur Rahman and Mahedi Hasan picked up one wicket each.

Earlier in the match, Anamul Haque’s 202 and Mahedi’s 177 drove Khulna to 459/8 in reply to Dhaka’s mere 113 in the first innings.

Khulna remained unbeaten in this NCL. They achieved 25 points in six matches including two wins and four draws.

Khulna have now the most number of title wins in 19 NCL tournaments (6). They first won in 2003-04 and then in 2007-08 and 2012-13. They have won the title on hat-trick occasions in 2015-16, 2016-17 and now 2017-18.

Dhaka Division and Rajshahi Division have five title wins each. Rajshahi won four consecutive times from 2008-09 to 2011-12.


Brief scores:

Dhaka Division 113 and 297 allout in 99.5 overs (Raqibul 58, Taibur 51; Rubel 3/64, Miraz 3/89)

Khulna Division 459/8d (Anamul 202, Mahedi 177; Sharif 3/70, Shuvagata 3/81)

Khulna Division won by an innings and 49 runs

Man of the Match: Mehidy Hasan Miraz (10/113)


-Ruffin, Correspondent,

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Khulna Division reclaim NCL title

37-year old Abdur Razzak hopes to make national team comeback

Soumya scores quick fifty in Khulna’s easy win

I want to wear the national team’s jersey again: Anamul

Razzak doesn't dream big anymore