Misbah in race for Pakistan’s head coach role

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) sacked head coach Mickey Arthur along with bowling coach Azhar Mahmood, batting coach Grant Flower and trainer Grant Ludenafter.

Mentor Misbah is all set to rock the Pakistan Super League (PSL)

After a disappointing World Cup, Pakistan are set to reinforce their side and changing the whole coaching staff is the first step towards it. After sacking the head coach Mickey Arthur, PCB have also decided not to renew the contracts of bowling coach Azhar Mahmood batting coach Grant Flower and trainer Grant Ludenafter.

Also Read - Rashid ruled out of remainder of English season

With former New Zealand coach Mike Hesson on the race for the head coach role, former Pakistan captain Misbah-ul Haq also now has entered the race according to reports.

According to The Tribune, Misbah is likely to become the head coach following Arthur’s exit. The new coach will be given a four-year tenure, till the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup. However, the performance of the coach will be assessed on yearly basis.

PCB cricket committee decided to sack Arthur after a review meeting took place on August 2.

“I am thankful to the PCB Cricket Committee for submitting their recommendations following an exhaustive and detailed review process. The committee comprised of individuals who possess tremendous acumen, experience and knowledge. The unanimous recommendation of the Committee was that it was time for new leadership and a fresh approach. I am happy to accept their strong recommendations,” PCB chairman Ehsan Mani said.

It will be historical for Pakistan if Misbah becomes the coach of the side. The former skipper played 75 Tests, 162 ODIs and 39 T20Is for Pakistan, scoring 5222 runs, 5122 runs and 788 runs respectively in the formats.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.
Tweet 20

Related Articles

Facebook partners with ICC

USA aims hosting ICC global events

ICC continues to clash with BCCI

Indian captain Virat Kohli names the biggest ICC tournament

ICC planning to hold ‘T20 Champions Cup’ in 2023-2031 cycle