Mominul 182 sets up big win for Bangladesh A

Mominul Haque’s career-best 182 and Bangladesh A’s highest score 386 have given the tourists a 85-run win over Ireland A in the fourth unofficial ODI at The Vineyard, Dublin. Bangladesh A are leading the five-match series by 2-1.

Mominul 182 sets up big win for Bangladesh A
Bangladesh A are 2-1 ahead in the series. ©Cricket Ireland


Electing to bat first, Bangladesh A lost Mizanur Rahman’s wicket early in the innings. Skipper Mominul then joined Zakir Hasan to put on a massive partnership of 210 runs for the third-wicket. Zakir made 79 off 93 with 7 fours and 2 sixes.

Also Read - SL win rain-affected ODI in thriller

Momimul went on to score his fourth List A ton in quick time. Mohammad Mithun accompanied him in 112-run stand. Mominul scored his second 150+ score in List A cricket. He was emerging towards a double hundred but an unfortunate run out from Simi Singh denied him. He slammed 182 runs fromm 133 deliveries including 27 fours and 3 sixes. This is the second-highest List A individual score by a Bangladeshi after Raqibul Hasan’s 190.

Mithun’s cameo 51-ball unbeaten 87 runs with 14 fours and 2 sixes propelled Bangladesh A to 386/4, the second-highest total by a Bangladeshi team in List A after Abahani’s 393/4.

In reply, Ireland A did put up a fight but were bundled out for 301 runs in 46.1 overs. Their captain Andy Balbirnie joined the run-fest with 111-ball 106 runs hitting 14 boundaries. Stuart Thompson (42 off 39) and Simi (53 off 39) made quickfire scores. James McCollum made 36-ball 43 at the top.

Bangladesh A bowlers ripped through the lower-order to seal victory by 85 runs. Khaled Ahmed and Fazle Rabbi grabbed three wickets each. Shoriful Islam and Mohammad Saifuddin took two each.

The teams will play the final one-dayer on August 10 before moving onto T20s.

Brief scores:

Bangladesh A 386/4 in 50 overs (Mominul 182, Mithun 87*, Zakir 79; McBrine 1/45)

Ireland A 301/10 in 46.1 overs (Balbirnie 106, Simi 53; Fazle 3/47, Khaled 3/73)

Bangladesh A won by 85 runs

Related Articles

Mithun, Soumya give Bangladesh A series win

All-round Ireland A level series

Ireland A-Bangladesh A 2nd T20 rescheduled

Rain forces ‘A’ series level

Bangladesh A scamper to 2-run win