MS Dhoni captains Ponting’s all-time best IPL XI

MS Dhoni captains Ponting's all - time best IPL - XI Former Australian skipper Ricky Ponting has selected Mahendra Singh Dhoni as the captain of his all – time best IPL XI. The team comprises of four Indian cricketers beside seven foreign recruits.

Apart from Mahendra Singh Dhoni, other Indian performers of the team are Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Harbhajan Singh and Amit Mishra.

The taking of Amit Mishra has come as a surprise, Ponting explained, “I’ve gone for a bit of shock here and have put Amit Mishra in the side. He has got an outstanding IPL record, he has got great variations and he is a wicket taker because he is not scared to throw the ball up.”

Also Read - Mumbai Indians end league stage being on the top

“Mishra turns the ball enough both ways and he has been a great performer for a long long time” – Ponting added.

The foreign selectees of the side are automated choice Chris Gayle, the power house of Caribbean batting and Dwayne Bravo; Lasith Malinga, the Sri Lankan slinger, Australia’s David Warner.

What might came as a surprise for many is the exclusion of modern T20 cricket’s batting phenomenon like AB de Villiers and Brendon McCullum. Keeping Sunil Narine out of the IPL – XI could also be confusing for some as the West Indian has been exhibiting a top quality all – round show for last several seasons.

About de Villiers, Ricky Ponting said, “But with the record, that my openers Chirs Gayle and David Warner, have it was a bit hard to fit AB de Villiers in the middle order. But he is an out and out match winner.”

Related Articles

Imran Khan beats Virat Kohli in ICC poll

Shoaib Akhtar makes a shocking remark on AB de Villiers

Hogg names his Test XI of the decade

Harsha picks Stokes, Shakib in ODI XI of the decade

Sobers congratulates Kohli