MS Dhoni named captain of CA’s ODI team of the decade

MS Dhoni who is the only captain to have won all the three major ICC Trophies namely ICC T20 World Cup 2007, ICC ODI World Cup 2011 and ICC Champions Trophy 2013 has been named the skipper of Cricket Australia’s (CA) ODI team of the decade. The best cricketing brain is so good with the bat.

Shastri discloses Dhoni's future in international cricket
MS Dhoni

Coming lower down the order, he has finished the games for India more often than not and which is why he is tagged as the best finisher in the world. “The input of MS Dhoni with the bat did tail off during the latter part of the decade, but he was a dominant force in a golden period for India’s ODI side.

Having assured his greatness by guiding his nation to World Cup glory on home soil in 2011, the right-hander became India’s ultimate finisher with the bat,” CA said while showering praise on MS Dhoni.

Also Read - Kohli named captain of CA's Test XI of the decade

MS Dhoni also maintains an average of more than 50 and it should be noted that 49 of his innings were unbeaten. During India’s run-chase, India have lost just three times when he is not out on 28 times.

“Dhoni’s average of more than 50 is undoubtedly boosted by the fact 49 of his innings were unbeaten. But on the 28 occasions, he has been not out in a run chase this decade, India have lost only three times. And his work behind the stumps has rarely let him or his bowlers down,” it added.

Rohit Sharma and Hashim Amla have been chosen as the side’s openers. Former Proteas captain AB de Villiers has been also chosen to play at the No.4 batting position. Shakib Al Hasan has also been picked by CA. Jos Buttler and Rashid Khan come next on the list. The pace battery Mitchell Starc, Trent Boult and Lasith Malinga have also been featured.

Pacer Jasprit Bumrah and opener Shikhar Dhawan did not make the cut in the ODI team of the decade, but CA listed them as honourary mentions.

Cricket Australia’s ODI team of the decade:

MS Dhoni (c & wk), Rohit Sharma, Hashim Amla, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Shakib Al Hasan, Jos Buttler, Rashid Khan, Mitchell Starc, Trent Boult, Lasith Malinga.

Related Articles

de Villiers pulls out of Big Bash

IPL 2020: RCB to wear green jersey against CSK

VIDEO: AB de Villiers’ all 6 sixes in his 22-ball 55* during RR vs RCB game

VIDEO: AB de Villiers’ powerfull shot reached boundary after hitting the stumps

Barring one super-human, everyone struggled on the pitch: Virat Kohli