Mumbai continue dominance over Kolkata

Mumbai Indians have continued their dominance over Kolkata Knight Riders, as they beat Shakib Al Hasan’s side by 10 runs in a slow-scoring fixture in Chennai. This is Mumbai’s 12th victory over Kolkata in 13 matches in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Mumbai continue dominance over Kolkata

Batting first, Mumbai Indians posted 152 runs on the board, thanks to a 76-run partnership between Rohit Sharma and Suryakumar Yadav for the second wicket.

Also Read - Chahal trolls KL Rahul and Gayle over Punjab Kings jersey

While Sharma made 43 off 32 balls with 3 fours and a six before getting his wickets uprooted by Pat Cummins, Yadav scored 56 off 36 balls with 7 fours and 2 sixes, but eventually fell prey to Shakib’s spin.

Yadav’s wicket by Shakib turned out to be the turning point of the innings, as once Yadav was gone, Mumbai started losing wickets in regular intervals.

In the end, it was Andre Russell, who bowled only two overs — the 18th and 20th — and still finished with a five-wicket haul to restrict Mumbai to what looked like a sub-par total.

Russell finished with 5 for 15 in his two overs, while Shakib was the most economical bowler of his side, conceding just 23 runs from his quota of four overs. Cummins also took two for 24 runs.

In reply, Nitish Rana and Shubman Gill marshalled Kolkata to a great start, as they scored 72 runs for the opening stand. Rana scored 57 off 47 balls with 6 fours and 2 sixes, and Gill struck 33 off 24 balls with 5 fours and a six.

But after the blistering opening stand, Kolkata failed to hold onto the momentum, as no other batsman could reach the double digit, and their innings finished with 142 for seven in 20 overs.

Rahul Chahar was the star with the ball in hand for Mumbai, picking up four wickets for 27 runs. Trent Boult also took two, conceding 27 runs, and Krunal Pandya grabbed one.

Brief scores: Mumbai Indians 152 for 10 in 20 overs (Yadav 56, Sharma 43; Russell 5-15) beat Kolkata Knight Riders 142 for 7 in 20 overs (Rana 57, Gill 33; Chahar 4-27) by 10 runs.


Related Articles

De Kock leads Mumbai to 7-wicket victory over Rajasthan

Chennai back on top with comprehensive victory over Hyderabad

Spirited KKR end losing streak with clinical victory

Samson, Morris sink Kolkata to the bottom

Rahul, Gayle guide Punjab back to winning ways