Mumbai Indians choke once again in a thriller

In a yet another thriller, Mustafizur Rahman’s Mumbai Indians had to end up at the losing side after Krishnappa Gowthan played a blinder of an innings in match number twenty-one of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and opted to bat against Rajasthan Royals. They lost Evin Lewis in the first over but Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan produced a 129-run partnership to put their team on course for a big score.

However, Rajasthan had other plans as they claimed 6 wickets in last 5 overs to restrict their opposition to 167/7 in 20 overs.

Also Read - Player Mic'd Up – Shakib Al Hasan

In reply, Rajasthan lost both of their openers early. After their dismissals, in form Sanju Samson (52) shined once again with the bat and played a handy knock with Ben Stokes who departed after a well made 42.

Samson and Stokes added 72 runs for the third wicket to push their side close to the finish line. Krishnappa Gowtham produced a blinder of a knock after Samson and Stokes’ departure.

When match was going away from Mumbai’s hand, Jasprit Bumrah and Mustafizur crawled MI back into the game. Bumrah picked up 2 wickets in an over while the cutter master picked up debutant Klassen for a duck. Mustafizur conceded 35 runs in his 4 overs in the end.

Despite of the three quick wickets, it still wasn’t enough as Gowtham conjured up an unbeaten 11-ball 33-run knock under pressure, hitting two sixes and four fours to seal a thrilling win for his side.

Brief score:

MI 167/7 (20 ov) | S Yadav 72 (47), Ishan 58 (42) | Archer 3/22
RR 168/7 (19.4 ov) | Samson 52 (39), Gowtham 33* (11) | Pandya 2/25

Watch Mumbai Indians choke once again in a thriller

Result: Rajasthan Royals won by 3 wkts

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

A Fan Asked Mayanti Langer For A Date, She Gave A Heart-Winning Reply!

IPL 2018: 3 captaincy replacement options available for RCB

IPL 2018: Best XI of the tournament

Watch Shakib’s performance in IPL final

Rampage Watson gives CSK 3rd IPL title