Mumbai Indians marvel 1 run victory to win Indian Premier League 2019 title

In the thick of supreme contest for supremacy, Mumbai Indians have tilted the fate in their side to submerge into the title victory eclipsing Chennai Super Kings’ dream by a single run thus became the champion of the Indian Premier League 2019.

Mumbai Indians marvel 1 run victory to win Indian Premier League 2019 title

Both Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians staged the great show of cricket– there could be no greater thriller for a final than what have been witnessed by a full house crowd at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad.

Also Read - Watch: Pollard trolls umpire with a bizarre batting stance

The competition came to conclusion in no earlier than the very last ball of the match when the seasoned Lasith Malinga put on a prudent delivery before Shardul Thakur trapped him for a leg before wicket restricting CSK from taking the couple needed for victory.

This is, therefore, the fourth time Mumbai Indians claimed the prestigious Indian Premier League title proving odds as their lucky charm. After 2013, 2015 and 2017, MI came victorious in 2019 as well.

The final evening of this season’s IPL started with Rohit Sharma winning the toss and decided to bat first.

The skipper along with Quinton de Kock stood for 45 in the first less than five overs but that was all to be solid for Mumbai batting in the occasion. Thakur dispersed de Kock and with that MI also started falling back from a countable total.

They could have outnumbered way beyond 149 in their 20 overs had Kieron Pollard not blitzed in the late middle order slashing 3 fours and equal number of sixes in his 25 ball 41, which was, however, the topmost score in Mumbai Indian’s innings.

Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur and Imran Tahir shared seven wickets out of total eight that fallen, in between them.

For CSK, another Proteas hard hitter Faf du Plessis launched the onslaught with Shane Watson.

Great Watson exhibited yet another master class this year surviving till a single ball before CSK had to embrace the defeat.

For the Aussie maestro, fortune did not favor his braveness – it was a sad end for his superlative effort.

Krunal Pandya and de Kock joint handedly contributed behind Watson’s run in the fourth ball of the twentieth over, while he was batting at 80, the 59 ball innings comprised of 8 boundaries and 4 over-boundaries.

Jasprit Bumrah was adjudged man of the match.

Brief Score:
Mumbai Indians 149/8 (20 overs)
Kieron Pollard 41, Quinton de Kock 29, Ishan Kishan 23
Deepak Chahar 3/26, Shardul Thakur 2/37, Imran Tahir 2/23

Chennai Super Kings 148/7 (20 overs)
Shane Watson 80, Faf du Plessis 26, Dwayne Bravo 15
Jasprit Bumrah 2/14


Watch the winning moments here-

Result: Mumbai Indians won by 1 wickets.
Toss: Mumbai Indians.

For the first time, Bdcrictime launches Android Application. The largest cricket based online portal BdcricTime App is administering ball by ball live scores of all international and Bangladesh matches and latest news coverage. Search Google Play-store to download the app or click in the link <a href=”“> Encourage us with your well thought rating.


Related Articles

KKR savagely trolls CSK on Instagram

Three reasons why CSK will target Steve Smith

Harbhajan bids farewell to Chennai Super Kings

CSK might not retain Raina for IPL 2021: Reports

CSK to release upto 7 to 8 cricketers before IPL 2021 auction: reports