Mumbai Indians swallow third successive defeat

On the contrary of Delhi Daredevils having 7 wickets left in hand before starting the final over of the innings, an array of hope squared in the minds of Mumbai Indians when Mustafizur Rahman was handed the ball by skipper Rohit Sharma to defend 11 runs off 6 deliveries.

Mumbai Indians swallows third successive defeat

Jason Roy, however, was something else in his mind, drove the first ball of Mustafizur to cross the boundary line mark.

Also Read - BCB makes requests to BCCI regarding 'Afghanistan series'

The next hit was even bigger, the ball flew into the fine leg for a huge six making the scores of two teams in level. They needed 1 run in 1 ball.

Some drama still left at the Wankhede Stadium, Fizz traveled through his short of length cutters in the next two deliveries, restricting Roy from taking that single run, the second of which was even presumed to be edged by the batsman.

The ultimate delivery fuzzed out, seemed it was caught by a fielder somehow, but landed safely, with that Delhi Daredevils won the match with much comfort, handing defending champion Mumbai Indians their third consecutive defeats.

Jason Roy left the field unbeaten, missed the century for a trifle. His 53 ball innings engrossed with 91 runs with 6 shots of fours and equal number of sixes.

The tough target of 194 runs thrown by Mumbai Indians after being sent into bat first was made easier even by Rishabh Pant who hit a 25 balls 47 runs comprised of 6 fours and 2 sixes.

Mumbai Indians, on the track of losing successive matches, started their innings marvelously with a hundred run exceeding partnership between Evin Lewis and Suryakumar Yadav.

Together they played 53 balls to score 102 runs. Both went back to the pavilion within a short span of time.

Lewis scored 48 runs while Suryakumar Yadav made 53 runs. The one down batsman of Mumbai Indians also added 44 runs in the tally.

This is the first win of Delhi Daredevils playing three matches of the Indian Premier League 2018. Gaining two wins out of two matches, Sunrisers Hyderabad is topping the point table.

Brief score:

Mumbai Indians 194/7 (20 overs)

Suryakumar Yadav 53, Evin Lewis 48, Ishan Kishan 44

Daniel Christian 2/35, Rahul Tewatia 2/36, Trent Boult 2/39

Delhi Daredevils 195/3 (20 overs)

Jason Roy 91*, Rishabh Pant 47, Shreyas Iyer 27*

Krunal Pandya 2/21, Mustafizur Rahman 1/25

Watch Mustafizur’s wicket here- 

Result: Delhi Daredevils won by 7 wickets.

Toss: Delhi Daredevils

Man of the Match: Jason Roy.



Related Articles

Delhi Daredevils upset Mumbai Indians to be in last four

DD outclass CSK by 34 runs

DD earn some pride after a clinical win against CSK

AB-Kohli’s masterclass keep RCB’s playoff hopes alive

Lamichhane becomes first Nepali to make IPL debut