National Parliament congratulates Tigeresses

Bangladesh’s National Parliament congratulated Bangladesh women cricket team after the Tigresses created history by clinching the Women’s Asia Cup 2018 title. Bangladesh beat India in the summit clash of the Women’s Asia Cup cricket tournament as the record defending champions suffered a three-wicket loss to Bangladesh at the Kinrara Academy Oval in Kuala Lumpur on Sunday.

National Parliament congratulates Tigeresses
Bangladesh defeat India by 3-wicket to clinch their maiden Asia Cup title.

Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury at the start of the today’s House proceedings, congratulated all the players, coach and officials of the national women’s cricket team as well as officials of Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) concerned involved with the T20 Asia Cup team. She said, “By winning the title, women’s cricketers have brightened the image of Bangladesh in the world stage. The women cricketers have Whole nation is proud of Bangladesh team’s performance.”

Meanwhile, Bangladesh skipper Salma Khatun revealed that they were confident of winning the game. “We were confident of winning this game. We had the ambition of playing well, given that it is the final. We had nothing to lose but they (India) had a lot to lose. We had a lot to gain and we have done it,” said an emotional Salma following the game yesterday.

Also Read - It was a misunderstanding: Miraz-Sabbir echo

Nazmus Sajid Chowdhury, Contributor,