New pay-scale for cricketers in DPL, Razzak urges to reconsider

Ahead of the forthcoming season of the Dhaka Premier League (DPL), Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has pencilled a new and revised pay-scale with dividing the cricketers into seven different categories.


According to the new pay scale, the highest payment for an individual has been decided Taka 30,00,000, while the minimum payment has been kept as low as Taka 3,50,000.

Also Read - Tamim, Mominul among fastest centurions in Test cricket

New pay-scale for DPL
Category A+ Taka 30,00,000
Category A Taka 25,00,000
Category B+ Taka 20,00,000
Category B Taka 15,00,000
Category C Taka 8,00,000
Category D Taka 4,50,000
Category E Taka 3,50,000

According to the rules, cricketers will be drarted to different teams through the Players-by-Choice process, which was followed in the third season of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) as well.


However, most of the cricketers are not happy with the recently announced pay-scale. Spinner Abdur Razzak said, “Maybe I will be bracketed into the A category. So I am not thinking about myself. But what about the other cricketers?”

He also added, “The Premier League is the main source of income for us. If one cricketer gets only Taka 3,50,000, is that enough for him to maintain his family properly throughout the year? I urge BCB to reconsider this decision, otherwise up-and-coming cricketers will lose interest to take cricket as a profession anymore.”

– Jannatul Naym Pieal, Correspondent,

Related Articles

Bangabandhu T20 Cup 2020: Top players who went unsold

Shakib-Ashraful called for fitness test, no Mashrafe

Razzak still seeks reason of being dropped from the team

Ashraful picks his all-time Bangladesh ODI XI

Rafique retired thinking about future of Shakib, Razzak