New Zealand announce 13-man squad for India Tests with surprise calls

New Zealand have announced their 13-member squad for the upcoming two-match Test series against India. Paceman Trent Boult is back in the squad after recovering from injury.

New Zealand announce 13-man squad for India Tests with surprise calls

While opening bowler Kyle Jamieson from Auckland Aces has been called up in the Test squad for the first time after his great debut in ODI against India, New Zealand will have the service from Tim Southee and in-form Neil Wagner too.

Also Read - Leave it to Kohli and give him freedom - former RCB owner

However, it comes as a surprise that spinner Mitchell Santner has been excluded from the Test squad against India. In the ongoing 2019-20 season, Santner has picked up just five wickets in four Tests at an average of 83.00.

Ajaz Patel has been named in the squad in place of Santner. The left-arm spinner Patel last played Test against Sri Lanka in 2019.

The hosts have additionally added Daryl Mitchell on the rear of his noteworthy bowling performance during the Indians’ warm-up match in Hamilton. Mitchell took the wickets of Prithvi Shaw, Shubman Gill and Rishabh Pant in the drawn match.

“With a squad of 13, we’ve put a priority on balance and ensuring we have the required assortment and various alternatives relying upon the pitch conditions at the Basin Reserve,”

coach Gary Stead was cited saying in

“It’s astounding to have Trent back with us, and we’re looking forward to the energy and experience he adds to the group close by his undeniable class with the ball in hand,” Stead added.

New Zealand squad:

Kane Williamson (c), Tom Latham, Tom Blundell (wk), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling, Colin de Grandhomme, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult, Ajaz Patel, Kyle Jamieson and Daryl Mitchell.



Like and Share the news if you liked it.
Tweet 20

Related Articles

Five narrowest Test wins in history in terms of run

Pakistan get blues in Abu Dhabi, Kiwis pamper 4 run win in 1st Test