New Zealand announce 9-man squad for India tour

A team needs 11 players in the team to play a match and 14-15 players to make a squad for a series but New Zealand did something that the cricket world has not seen yet. [বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ ভারত সফরের জন্য নিউজিল্যান্ডের ৯ সদস্যর দল ঘোষণা]

New Zealand have only announced 9 players for the three match ODI series against India. They will fill up the remaining slots from the New Zealand A squad who are currently on a tour.

The squad so far looks different from the squad of champions trophy 2017. Neil Broom and Jimmy Neesham has been dropped. 

Also Read - Tamim returns to practice

New Zealand coach Mike Hesson said in a press conference: “The nine we have picked have made up the core of our ODI team for a while & all of them have experience playing in India.” 

He added: “With a number of our top guys already playing in India, its helpful to be able to select the squad in two parts. With six spots left, there’s an obvious incentive for the players in New Zealand A to perform and put their best foot forward.”

The three match ODI series between New Zealand and India will begin on 22th October in Mumbai. India has become the No. 1 ODI team after beating Australia on Sunday and it was their 9th ODI win in a row while New Zealand are at 5th with only two rating points behind England who are at 4th.

9-man squad: Martin Guptill, Tom Latham (wk), Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Trent Boult.

Related Articles

Afghanistan knock Sri Lanka out of the Asia Cup

Pakistan start Asia Cup campaign with easy win

2 possible replacements for Alastair Cook

Pakistan announce 18-man squad for Asia Cup camp

Kohli becomes no.1 Test batsman