New Zealand announce squad for first Test against Sri Lanka

Despite picking up seven wickets on his debut, William Somerville has been dropped from the squad as New Zealand announce 13-man squad for the first Test against Sri Lanka.


After prioritizing the spinners in the UAE tour against Pakistan, New Zealand have opted to take only one spinner in Wellington. Ajaz Patel has been included in the squad after showing some promising performances in the UAE tour. He picked up  7 for 123 in New Zealand’s four-run win in the first Test.

When asked behind the inclusion of Ajaz, selector Gavin Larsen said:

Also Read - We were better as a team and deserve the win: Virat Kohli

“Will Somerville was an obvious stand-out on debut in the Abu Dhabi decider and it’s great to know we’ve got quality spin bowlers who can create competition for places.”

Meanwhile Central Stags batsman Will Young has also been included in the squad as a batting backup. He got his reward after an impressive performance with the bat in the ongoing ‘A’ series against India. He also scored a hundred in Sunday’s 50-over clash in Mount Maunganui.

“It’s an exciting time for Will Young who has been pushing for higher honours for a while now. He scored hundreds against Pakistan A and India A in recent months and fully deserves his call-up,” Larsen said.

Squad: Kane Williamson (c), Tom Latham, Jeet Raval, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling, Colin de Grandhomme, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Ajaz Patel, Trent Boult, Matt Henry, Will Young.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Hasnain called back to Pakistan from CPL

Pakistan retain Sarfraz Ahmed as captain

Anshuman Rath quits Hong Kong to play for India

Wahab Riaz takes indefinite break from Test cricket

Masakadza grateful to BCB for helping in tough period