New Zealand clinch series win after last over drama at Hamilton

New Zealand clinch T20I series win after beating India by 4 runs in a last over thriller.

Santner dismissed Vijay Shankar

India’s tour of New Zealand has come to an end with the end of the three-match T20I series. New Zealand started well the series with a huge win and India made a strong come back in the second game. With 1-1 in the series, both teams came to Hamilton for the series decider.

Indian skipper Rohit Sharma won the toss and elected to bowl first on a nice batting track. Both teams came with the same playing XI from the last game.

Also Read - MS Dhoni takes less than a second to stump Tim Seifert in the 3rd T20I

After putting into bat first, New Zealand openers provided a solid start which they needed in such types of game. The opening duo added 80 runs for the 1st wicket before the wicket of Tim Seifert for a master class from MS Dhoni.

On the other end, Colin Munro scored a blistering half-century and went back on 70 runs. Following the solid aggressive start from the openers, the rest of the batsmen maintained the same rhythm and took New Zealand over 200 mark. New Zealand set a target of 213 for India as Indian bowlers went for plenty of runs.

India were off to a terrible start in this huge chase since Shikhar Dhawan was dismissed for only 5 runs. Following the early wicket of Dhawan, Rohit Sharma and Vijay Shankar formed a good partnership for the second wicket and added 75 runs before the wicket of Vijay Shankar on 43.

Following the wicket of Vijay Shankar, India lost wickets in regular intervals even though their batsmen were off to a good aggressive start. Rishabh Pant and Hardik Pandya had a good aggressive start but failed to convert them into big. At one stage India were 145/6 and looked almost done.

But Dinesh Karthik and Krunal Pandya took the game to the last over but failed to take the team over the line in the last over by just 4 runs. After all the dramas New Zealand won the game by 4 runs and clinched the series 2-1 and maintains their winning streak in the format.

Brief Scores:

New Zealand: 212/4 (20)
Colin Munro 72, Tim Seifert 43
Kuldeep Yadav 2/26, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 1/37

India: 208/6 (20)
Vijay Shankar 43, Rohit Sharma 38
Daryl Mitchell 2/27, Mitchell Santner 2/32


Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Jamieson, Conway earn NZC contracts as Munro, Raval lose deals

Munro talks about his brilliant run-out by Virat Kohli

KL Rahul creates a new world record in T20I series against Kiwis

Video: Kohli’s sharp run-out sends Munro back to the hut

Malan-Morgan-Parkison star in destructive English win over New Zealand