No Aleem Dar and Ian Gould for Ban-Ind match

no ian gould and aleem dar this time for ban-ind match


When Bangladesh and India last time locked horns with each other in a knock-out round match of a major ICC event, it was during the quarterfinal match of the 2015 World Cup. [নিউজটি বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ বাংলাদেশ-ভারত ম্যাচে আম্পায়্যার তালিকা]

Also Read - Five uncapped names in England T20I squad

And that particular match was marred by some controversial umpiring decision, that triggered a huge outrage among the Bangladeshi spectators later on.

Ian Gould and Aleem Dar were the on-field umpires for that match.

The potentially turning point of the match was witnessed by millions across the world as Ian Gould no-balled Rubel Hossain for a seemingly waist-high full toss in the 40th over of the match.

Rohit Sharma clubbed away the delivery almost instinctively towards deep midwicket where the outfielder came forward to claim the catch.

To the dismay of Bangladesh supporters, umpire Ian Gould called out a no-ball and reprieved Rohit Sharma and India’s chances of a huge score.

When the replay was shown, the error in Ian Gould’s judgment became apparent with repeated viewing as the ball was dipping sharply when the batsman made contact.

Eventually Bangladesh lost the match to India and were knocked out of the tournament. Still after almost two and a half years since that match, many believe the outcome of the match could have been different had the umpired given Bangladesh a fair play.

So when Bangladesh and India are once again in a knock-out, winner-take-all position, it must be interesting as to see who would be officiating the match.

But to the relief of the Bangladeshi fans all around the world, there is no Ian Gould or Aleem Dar to officiate this match. Rather, the on-field umpires appointed for this match are Richard Kettleborough and Kumar Dharmasena, while the third umpire will be Nigel Llong and Chris Broad will be the match referee.

The match between Bangladesh and India will be held in Edgbaston on June 15.

Meanwhile, Marais Erasmus and Rod Tucker will be the on-field umpires for the first semifinal match between England and Pakistan. Bruce Oxenford will be the third umpire, and Andy Pycroft will be the match referee. This match will take place in Cardiff on June 14.


– Jannatul Naym Pieal, Correspondent,

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Aleem Dar talks about charity work through his restaurant ‘Dar’s Delighto’

Aleem Dar’s restaurant to offer free food to unemployed and poor people

New Zealand announce 13-man squad for India Tests with surprise calls

Scorer and other umpire intervention is encouraged: MCC

Watch: David Warner engages in a heated argument with Aleem Dar