No BPL T20 in 2021

The eighth edition of Bangladesh Premier League T20 has been pushed to 2022.

BCB looking to organize BPL in December-January

Bangladesh’s top T20 league could not be staged since the special edition in 2019-20 which commemorated birth centenary of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, the father of the nation.

Also Read - RCB rope in Finn Allen as replacement for Josh Philippe

Andre Russell-led Rajshahi Royals won that tournament which was named ‘Bangabandhu BPL T20’.

The coronavirus pandemic forced stoppage of competitive cricket in Bangladesh for six months. A three-team 50-over tournament – BCB President’s Cup – was hosted last year. A six-team Bangabandhu T20 Cup, that only had local players, was arranged in November-December.

Despite international cricket returning to Bangladesh this year with the West Indies series, BPL will not be staged in the year of T20 World Cup in India.

BPL will be back in next January-February and will continue for 36 days, starting from January 14, 2022. A consecutive T20 World Cup will be played in Australia later in same year.

The ninth edition will run for 46 days in the 2023 BPL, which will kick off on January 3.

Seven teams participated in the last BPL: Rajshahi Royals (champions), Khulna Tigers (runners-up), Dhaka Platoon, Cumilla Warriors, Chattogram Challengers, Rangpur Rangers and Sylhet Thunder.

The seventh edition was held in early 2019, and many of the older franchises did not want to take part for a second BPL in a calendar year. BCB decided to run the tournament without taking any franchises, and sponsored Rangpur and Cumila, while the rest were sponsored by private corporate firms.

Related Articles

SL name squad for Bangladesh tour, Kusal Perera to lead

Domingo to continue as Bangladesh head coach

Shakib to skip PSL for DPL T20

Understanding fielding in Liton’s way

I understand my game better: Liton Das