No foreigners in this year’s DPL

Dhaka Premier League (DPL) is considered as the biggest 50-over domestic cricket competition of the country. While it is a big platform for the local cricketers to showcase their talent, it also attracts many a foreign faces.No foreigners in this year's DPL

However, this year’s DPL is set to be played without any foreign players in order to provide more opportunity for the local players.

CCDM Chairman Kazi Inam Ahmed informed the news in a press conference at the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Sunday (February 23).

Also Read - Afridi credits IPL for India's success, hopes PSL to do same

“No foreign players will take part in this year’s DPL. This is a massive opportunity for the local players. Foreign players don’t take part in BCL, NCL and we want to implement that too this year. We have taken this decision after talking to the board and the clubs,” Inam said.

The league will start on March 15, with the date for the player transfers has been set from March 3 to 5.

“DPL will kick off on March 15. We have set the date for transfers from March 3 to March 5. As the national team will be in Sylhet at that time, there will be a desk for the players to sign up for the transfers,” Inam informed.

According to the CCDM Chairman, this year’s DPL player transfers will also see no “player by choice” due to the demand from the players for it to be discarded.

Meanwhile a T20 tournament will also take place after the Super League round with the teams participating in the Super League. The single leg affair will ensure that each team has five matches to play.

Another interesting rule is that the teams participating in the T20 tournament will be able to bring in maximum three players from the teams that will not play in it.

Related Articles

Shakib opens up on New Zealand tour

Bangladesh move to No.2 in World Cup Super League

Photo Album: Bangladesh vs West Indies 3rd ODI, Chattogram

Tamim disappointed for missing century

Tigers win third match by 120 runs, complete Banglawash