No icons in BPL 2018

Unlike previous other seasons’, the 2018 Bangladesh Premier League will be out of ‘icon’ cricketers.

fixture of Chittagong phase matches

The country’s franchise based T20 tournament has casted away with the local icon cricketers’ category for the forthcoming edition of the tournament.

At the next player draft held on October 25, cricketers will be bracketed in categories with A+ become the highest along with five more of them – B, C, D and E.

Also Read - Indian captain Virat Kohli recommended for Khel Ratna

BPL governing council secretarty Ismail Haider said on Monday, ”There will be no icons in BPL.” “We have decided to replace that with A+ category,” he said.

Young guns Mustafizur Rahman and Litton Das have been elevated to the A+ category for the upcoming draft. The left-arm pacer was earlier an icon player for Barisal Bulls.

Whereas a BPL official revealed that Sabbir Rahman and Soumya Sarkar, who were among the icons last season, miss out from the A+ category due to average performances in the recent past.

The other icon players of the last season – Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Mashrafe Mortaza – will all be part of the top category during the player draft.

According to the latest decision of the BPL governing council, the base price for overseas cricketers will be increased to the amount which would attract high profile foreign cricketers in the competition.

Therefore, the base price for the foreign players in the A+ category will be USD 200,000 while the base prices for those under A,B,C,D and E will be USD 150,000, USD 75,000, USD 50,000, USD 30,000 and USD 20,000 respectively.


Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

David Warner set to return in field following injury scare

Watch: Alex Hales’s 100 run against Chittagong Vikings

Watch: Afridi’s bizarre dismissal against Chittagong Vikings

David Warner to lead Sylhet Sixers in BPL 2019

Riders ride in with explosive trio