No Stokes, Bumrah in Ian Bishop’s ODI XI of the decade

Former West Indies fast bowler and current commentator Ian Bishop has picked his ODI eleven of the decade and three Indians are included in the list. Bishop made the picks during a conversation with Indian journalist Harsha Bhogle.

No Williamson, Bumrah in Ian Bishop's ODI XI of this decade

To open the innings, he named David Warner and Rohit Sharma as the opening batsman. According to him, both batters are explosive prospects and have been primary reasons behind their team contribution.

Also Read - Only few are brave: Kohli wishes Shastri on his birthday

The former pacer, picked Virat Kohli for number three and it didn’t spring a surprise bearing in mind the Indian skipper’s inclusions.  For the number four, Bishop went for AB de Villiers, the former South African cricketer. Although he has retired back in 2018.But there have been talks of him making a comeback for the national side.

Ross Taylor ends the list of specialist batsmen by Bishop. The New Zealand batter has been a consistent performer and even into his late 30s, he is a bedrock of the Black Caps’ batting unit for last couple of years.

The cricketer turned commenters picks Malinga in place of Bumrah. Bangladesh’s all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan is Bishop’s only genuine all-rounder in the playing squad. Although, Shakib is currently serving a ban from the ICC after he failed to report three corrupt proposals. Throughout his career, the 33-year-old Jessore-born has ruled the cricket as far as rankings are proof.

For the keeper’s slot, Bishop picked MS Dhoni. Dhoni has won every other ICC’s limited-overs tournament and has also taken India to the top of the Test rankings when he was the Skipper. As his pacers, Bishop zeroed in on Mitchell Starc, Dale Steyn and Lasith Malinga to complete the squad.

Here is Ian Bishop’s XI:

Rohit Sharma, David Warner, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Ross Taylor, Shakib Al Hasan, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Mitchell Starc, Dale Steyn, Lasith Malinga and Rashid Khan.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Tom Moody picks current T20 XI and appoints Rohit as the skipper

Aakash Chopra picks all time best Delhi Capital XI

Michael Hussey picks all time best IPL XI

Kuldeep Yadav Names Smith and Villiers as the toughest batsmen

AB De Villiers picks his all time best IPL XI