North Zone emerge BCL champions

Prime Bank North Zone have emerged the champions of the 5th edition of franchise based first-class tournament Bangladesh Cricket League (BCL) by earning three points from the drawn game against East Zone at the Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah.

BCB North Zone claims the BCL Title 2017

This is North Zone’s maiden title triumph. Earlier, South Zone and Central Zone had won the BCL trophy twice each in the first four editions of the tournament.

Also Read - PCB wants Bangladesh or Sri Lanka to replace India for bilateral series

The match between North Zone and East Zone ended due to poor light after only 47 overs on the final day. Earlier, North Zone, having been sent in, posted 374 in 111.3 overs. Shafiul Islam’s six-wicket haul then wrecked East Zone’s reply and helped North Zone to a 158-run first-innings lead.

In their second innings, North Zone declared on 295 for 8, which gave East Zone an improbable target of 494. In the end, East Zone finished at 128 for 3 in 36 overs before the game was called off.

Meanwhile, the other contest of the 6th and last round of the competition between South Zone and Central Zone in Savar also ended in a draw.

List of BCL champions
Central Zone (2012-13)
South Zone (2013-14)
South Zone (2014-15)
Central Zone (2015-16)
North Zone (2016-17)

– Jannatul Naym Pieal, Correspondent,

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

South Zone bag fourth BCL title

BCL gets underway today

BCB starts BCL planning

Raqibul hammers ton, Walton Mid zone fighting to avoid follow-on

Razzak on brink of 500 first class wickets