Pakistan announce Asia Cup 2022 squad

Shaheen Afridi was included in both tour groups to continue his rehab after suffering a knee injury with the team

vision mobile

Hasi Kamanger

Posted -

Updated -

Pakistan made the big decision to drop pacesetter Hasan Ali from the 2022 Asian Cup squad, choosing the young, lurid Naseem Shah in his place, while the injured Shaheen Shah Afridi remains in both squads.

Pakistan have announced a strong squad for their upcoming ODI series against the Netherlands and the T20I Asia Cup that commences later this month.
Star quick Shaheen Afridi is named in both squads and is in line to make his return to cricket during the three-match Super League series against the Netherlands after he missed the recent second Test against Sri Lanka last month.
Babar Azam will once again lead Pakistan after being named captain of both squads, while fast bowler Naseem Shah is included in place of fellow quick Hasan Ali.
Chief Selector Muhammad Wasim is pleased with the balance between both teams and said he believes the changes made to his side ahead of the Asian Cup are for the best for the team.
"We only made changes that were necessary," he said.
“Both competitions are important to us and that is why, in consultation with the captain and head coach, we have selected our best available players.
“Hasan has been given a break from international cricket and has been replaced by Naseem Shah. He's quick and can add momentum to the fast bowling section, which already features Haris Rauf, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Shahnawaz Dahani Naseem hasn't played international white ball cricket, but he has proved with the Red-Ball that he is an offensive option with good pace and controlled swing.
“Salman Ali Agha has been recalled to the ODI side after performing well in the last two Pakistan Cup tournaments averaging 40.33 and 48.8 respectively. It also gives Babar Azam an additional bowling option.”
Pakistan has announced its 16-man squad for the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup Super League matches against Netherlands from August 16-21 and a 15-man squad for the 2022 T20 Asia Cup, which starts August 27 in the United Arab Emirates will be held until September 11th.
Pakistan squad for Asia Cup: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir.
Pakistan squad for Netherlands ODIs: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Imam-ul-Haq, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Salman Ali Agha, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, Zahid Mehmood