Pakistan announce squad for South Africa ODIs

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) have announced 16-man squad for the upcoming five-match ODI series against South Africa.

ICC rules out 'miraculous' return of international cricket in Pakistan
With one Test match still to go, Pakistan have already announced the squad for the ODI series where Mohammad Amir, Shan Masood, Mohammad Rizwan and Hussain Talat are the special inclusions in the squad.

After a disastrous few months, Amir was dropped from the team and the last game he played was against India in the Asia Cup. He was also left out for the Australia and New Zealand series. But after proving himself once again in first-class cricket in Pakistan, he has earned his place back in the squad.

Amir picked up 23 wickets at an impressive average of 13.60 for the 2018-19 season.  Meanwhile, Talat, who is yet to make a debut has earned a call-up into the side. Recently, he scored an unbeaten 116 against UAE in the ACC Emerging Cup. Masood has got an instant reward for scoring two fifties in the Test series against South Africa while wicket-keeper batsman Rizwan is back into the side.

Also Read - Albie Morkel announces retirement from all forms of cricket

While Junaid Khan, Asif Ali and Haris Sohail has been dropped from the squad. Junaid and Sohail has been dropped to fitness and injuries issue. While Asif has been dropped for consistently poor performances.

Pakistan’s national selector Inzamam-ul-Haq said

“Junaid Khan has not been considered for this tour because we feel he has to work more on his bowling since the fitness issues cut short his series against New Zealand. Asif Ali has been dropped due to inconsistent and below-par performances. In his place, we have decided to give Hussain Talat an opportunity to show his mettle and skills. He is a good left-handed batsman, who can also bowl.”

Squad: Sarfraz Ahmed (C & WK), Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Hasan Ali, Hussain Talat, Imad Wasim, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Rizwan, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Shan Masood, Shoaib Malik, Usman Khan.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

India remain unbeaten against Pakistan in World Cup

Time to think about ourselves only: Mashrafe

Fair enough to put us in underdog category: Holder

Russell to miss the clash against Bangladesh?

Taylor, Masakadza back in Zimbabwe squad