Preview: India vs New Zealand, Semi-final 1

The mega event, ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 is inching towards the climax with only three games left in the tournament. India, Australia, England and New Zealand have secured a place in the semi-finals. India will take on New Zealand in the first semi-final on 9th July while Australia will take on England in the second semi-final on 11th July.

India vs New Zealand, CWC 2019

Coming to the first semi-final both teams were called as the favourites to lift the trophy at the beginning of the tournament. India lost only one game in their road to the semi-final while the game against their opponents in the semi-final , New Zealand was washout due to rain. New Zealand had some up and down in the tournament with five wins and three defeats and they were the last one to qualify.

Also Read - CWC 2019: Will Rishabh Pant play semi-finals?

Looking at Indian team, their top order looks more dangerous with the dominant hand from Rohit Sharma well supported by KL Rahul and Virat Kohli. In the middle order there might be some confusions to whether play Dinesh Karthik or Ravindra Jadeja, the one spot that is troubling them through out the tournament. In bowling department, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami are expected to lead while Yuzvendra Chahal will lead the spin department.

On the other end, New Zealand are bit worried with the form their batsmen as no one is consistent throughout the tournament except the skipper Kane Williamson. Their seam bowling will be a threat to India in the likes of Trent Boult and Lockie Ferguson who troubled India in the warm-up match too. Still the side looks a bit unstable ahead of a big game.

Coming to the playing conditions, there are some expectations for some shower in the ground which might spoil the play. Regarding the pitch, it is going to be a fresh wicket for the semifinal clash. Thus, the pitch is expected to offer assistance to the batsmen and it might slow down as the match will progress.

Predicted Playing XI:

India: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah

New Zealand: Ross Taylor, Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson (c), Colin de Grandhomme, Henry Nicholls, Trent Boult, Tom Latham (wk), James Neesham, Matt Henry, Mitchell Santner, Lockie Ferguson

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Henry Nicholls to donate World Cup final shirt

Archer finds lost World Cup medal

ECB softens recreational drugs policy

2019 Men’s World Cup gave £350 million boost to UK economy: ICC

Dhawan suffers another injury scare