Preview: SRH’s 2nd or CSK’s 3rd?

The eleventh edition of Indian Premier League is set for it’s grand finale as tournament favourites Chennai Super Kings and Sunrisers Hyderabad battle for the trophy at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.

Preview: SRH's 2nd or CSK's 3rd?
Williamson and Dhoni pose with the trophy. Photo: BCCI


Super Kings were the first to go to the finals after a two-wicket win over Sunrisers in the Qualifier 1. They finished as No.2 in the points table on their return to IPL after two years. This is their seventh final in 9 IPL seasons.

Also Read - Buttler, Bess salvage top-order failure

Table-toppers SRH defeated Kolkata Knight Riders in the second qualifier by 13 runs to get their ticket into the final. This is their second final in IPL. They won the tournament in 2016.

CSK have been a batting heavy side in this IPL. Four of their batsmen have scored over 400 runs — Ambati Rayudu (586), MS Dhoni (455), Shane Watson (438) and Suresh Raina (413).

While Lungi Ngidi has been very effective with the ball (10 wickets in 6 matches). Deepak Chahar is their best bowler with 15 wickets this season.

On the otherhand, Hyderabad have the best bowling attack arguably. Rashid Khan and Siddarth Kaul are the joint-second leading wicket-takers with 21 wickets each. Left-arm spinner Shakib Al Hasan has taken 14 wickets.

Their skipper Kane Williamson is the orange cap holder with 688 runs. Middle-order has been a problem for them.

CSK and SRH have faced each other three times in this IPL. CSK won all three of them. Rayudu scored 79 and 100* against them in the league stage but failed in the qualifier. Faf du Plessis was the hero for his 42-ball in 67* in the qualifier.

SRH’s Rashid almost won them the game in that match. He took 2 wickets for 11 overs in four overs in Tuesday’s match.

Bangladesh’s Shakib will be playing his third IPL final. He won for KKR in 2012 and 2014. Six years back on this same day (May 27), Shakib’s KKR beat CSK to lift their first title.

Likely XIs:

Chennai Super Kings: Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (captain & wk), Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar, Harbhajan Singh/Karn Sharma, Shardul Thakur, Lungi Ngidi

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Kane Williamson (captain), Shakib Al Hasan, Deepak Hooda, Yusuf Pathan, Carlos Brathwaite, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddarth Kaul, Sandeep Sharma/Khaleel Ahmed/Basil Thampi

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Hussey wants Dhoni to play for another 10 years

Watch: Dhoni in steering wheel of his new vehicle

Sakshi reveals Dhoni’s love for PUBG

RCB’s ‘strange’ reasons to show unwillingness in buying Dhoni

Rohit, Raina reveal MI-CSK combined XI