Prime Bank beat Brothers Union by 1 run in a nail biting finish

Half centuries from Abhimanyu, Mehedi Maruf and Zakir Hasan helped Prime Bank Cricket Club to beat Brothers Union by one run in a nail biting finish in the ninth round of the Dhaka Premier League (DPL) 2017.

Batting first at Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Protisthan Ground-3 in Savar, Prime Bank Cricket Club posted 249 for 6 in 43 overs. One-down batsman Abhimanyu Easwaran was the top scorer for his side, scoring 70 off 68 balls, hitting five fours and a six.

Earlier, two openers Mehedi Maruf and Shanaj Ahmed gave Prime Bank a solid start with a 70-run opening stand. Mehedi Maruf smashed 58, hitting six fours and two sixes while Shanaj scored 21. Wicket-keeper batsman Zakir Hasan added 52 runs with later hitting. Spinner Nihaduzzaman took three wickets for Brothers.

Also Read - Ashraful to play a T20 match against Afridi

Chasing a target of 250 runs in 43 overs, Brothers Union lost the match in the last over by 1 run as they finished their innings on 248 for 8 in 43 overs. Manvinder Bisla’s 57, Junaid Siddique’s 51 and another 46 by Alok Kapali boosted Brothers close to the target. They required 11 runs in the final over. But Prime Bank boys held their nerve and restricted the opponent to 10 runs.

For Prime Bank Cricket Club, fast bowler Alamin Hossain and Ariful Haque picked two wickets each while Taiabur and Al Amin jnr. took one wicket each.

Brief Scores :

Prime Bank Cricket Club : 249/6 in 43 overs
(Abhimanyu 70, Mehedi Maruf 58, Zakir Hasan 52, Nihad Uz Zaman 3/58, Kapali 2/33, Saddam 1/45)

Brothers Union : 248/8 in 43 overs
(Manvinder Bisla 57, Zunaid 51, Kapali 46, Alamin Hossain 2/44, Al Amin 1/35, Taiabur 1/46)

Related Articles

Domestic cricket only after vaccination

BCB to dedicate all 2021 series to Bangabandhu

Two one-day tournaments likely in a year: CCDM

Bangabandhu T20 Cup 2020: Top players who went unsold

Domestic cricket to commence along with SL series