‘Public Poll’ to rate Test pitches!

International Cricket Council rated ‘Perth’ wicket as average after the second Test between India and Australia.

Australian paceman Josh Hazlewood suggested a ‘player and public poll’ could be taken to rate Test ‘pitches’ following ICC rated Perth wicket as ‘average.’ Hazlewood and fellow pacer Mitchell Starc has heavily criticized the decision of the highest authority of cricket.

'Public Poll' to rate Test pitches!

“I think rather than one person giving the rating, maybe votes go around to the players or staff or anyone involved,” Hazlewood told

Also Read - Brathwaite ready to risk sanction for the team in 'No-Ball' case

“You’d get a broader collective feedback from players,” he said.

“Even a public poll could get some good feedback or some bad feedback. I’m sure the first two (Test) wickets have been well received by the public as well as the players involved,” Hazlewood said further.

Starc also disagreed that the inconsistent bounce was dangerous for the players.

“I know a couple of people got hit in the head and shoulders, but its Test cricket,’ Hazlewood said. “You’re bowling 140kph, guys are going to get hit on any wicket.

“I thought it was a great wicket. Guys got hundreds, guys got seventies, spin got wickets, and quicks got wickets. What else do you really want from it? It was competitive cricket and it went to day five.

“As far as I’m concerned, it ticked every box,” Hazlewood said.

The third Test will be played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) which was also rated ‘poor’ the last time it hosted a Test in December 2017.

Australia squad: Tim Paine (c, wk), Josh Hazlewood (vc), Mitch Marsh (vc), Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, Archie Schiller

India squad: Virat Kohli (c), Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hardik Pandya, Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant (wk), Parthiv Patel (wk), Ravi Ashwin, Ravi Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Australia gain momentum to get the urn back

Watch: Marcus Harris hit with a brutal bouncer from Bumrah