Quinton de Kock unavailable for RCB match; Lynn to replace him

The highly-anticipated cash-rich Indian Premier League is expected to go all guns blazing from today onwards. The tournament will come to an end on May 30. The tournament opener will be between the defending champions Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Quinton de Kock unavailable for RCB match; Lynn to replace him

In the latest development, ahead of the opening encounter, Quinton de Kock has been unavailable for the RCB clash as Chris Lynn will replace him. The South African captain joined the MI camp after taking part in the first two ODIs that Proteas played against Pakistan.

Also Read - Behrendorff roped in as Hazelwood's replacement in CSK squad

According to the BCCI protocols, Proteas captain will have to mandatorily undergo 7 days of quarantine. So, flamboyant opening batsman, Chris Lynn will replace De Kock in the upcoming match.

Australian international Lynn has a pretty good record when it comes to the IPL. Having played 41 IPL games, the explosive right-handed batsman has scored 1280 runs at a phenomenal strike rate of 140.66.

De Kock had a superb season in the United Arab Emirates last year as he aggregated 503 runs at a pretty decent average of 35.92 and a strike rate of 140.50.

Quinton has been quite good in the IPL as he scored 1959 runs at an average of 31.60. He has often helped the team provide a blistering start to the game. He has maintained a strike rate in excess of 130.

Meanwhile, Mumbai Indians have a cutting edge over RCB in terms of head to head. MI won 17 games against RCB whereas Kohli’s team managed to win 10 games.

MI were the champions of the 2020 season in the UAE as they lifted their fifth trophy. They will be looking forward to the opening encounter today at MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

Mumbai Indians squad:

Rohit Sharma, Quinton de Kock (WK), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan (WK), Chris Lynn, Anmolpreet Singh, Saurabh Tiwary, Aditya Tare, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Anukul Roy, Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult, Rahul Chahar, Jayant Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Mohsin Khan, Nathan Coulter Nile, Adam Milne, Piyush Chawla, James Neesham, Yudhvir C

Related Articles

Lynn urges CA to arrange charter flight for Covid-19 fear in India

Watch: Boult and Lynn go surfing in Chennai; video goes viral

Top 10 moments in IPL History

PSL 2021: Complete squads of all 6 teams

IPL 2020: Benched XI of the season