Rampage Watson gives CSK 3rd IPL title

Chennai Super Kings, on their return, have won the Indian Premier League 2018 by beating table-toppers Sunrisers Hyderabad by 8 wickets at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. In nine editions, this is CSK’s third win in seven IPL finals.

Rampage Watson gives CSK 3rd IPL title
Watson hit his 4th IPL ton. Photo: Collected


Super Kings won the coin toss and elected to bowl first. CSK dropped Harbhajan Singh for Karn Sharma. SRH recalled Sandeep Sharma and Shreevats Goswami.

Also Read - Spot-fixing allegations made against England, Australia

Sunrisers made a steady start but Goswami fell in a run out for 5. Shikhar Dhawan and skipper Kane Williamson added 51 for the third-wicket. Dhawan was bowled while sweeping Ravindra Jadeja after scoring 25-ball 26.

Shakib Al Hasan started his innings in a brisk fashion hitting a four on his first ball. Williamson departed scoring 47 off 36 balls hitting 5 fours and 2 sixes as he was stumped off Karn Sharma.

Shakib couldn’t make his start bigger as he was dismissed by a full-toss off Dwayne Bravo. The ace all-rounder made 15-ball 23 with 3 fours and a six.

Deepak Hooda failed in this match. It was upto Yusuf Pathan and Carlos Brathwaite to finish off the innings for Hyderabad.

Pathan slammed unbeaten 45 runs off 25 deliveries including 4 fours and 2 sixes. Brathwaite hit 3 sixes in his 11-ball 21. SRH posted a healthy 178/6 in 20 overs.

CSK started at a very slow pace with the first over bowled by Bhuvneshwar Kumar being a maiden. Shane Watson struggled for runs. He could not score in his first 10 balls. Qualifier’s hero Faf du Plessis managed 10 runs in the final.

Only 35 runs were scored in the powerplay and the asking rate jumped up. Watson then decided to have a move on with Suresh Raina. Watson brought up his half-century in 33 balls.

The Aussie set up carnage in the 13th over when he hammered 27 runs (two fours and three sixes) off Sandeep Sharma in his last over.

Watson and Raina put on 117-run stand. Brathwaite got rid of Raina in the next over. Raina played the supportive role for his 24-ball 32. Despite the fire from Chennai, Rashid bowled a maiden in the 15th over (1 leg-bye).

Watson reached his 4th IPL hundred in 51 balls, his second in this edition. CSK achieved the target in 18.3 overs to lift their third IPL trophy. Watson remained unbeaten on 117* runs from 57 deliveries including 11 fours and 8 sixes.

Watch Sandeep Sharma gives 27 run in an over

Ambati Rayudu hit the winning runs with a boundary through the covers off Brathwaite.

Brief scores:

Sunrisers Hyderabad 178/6 in 20 overs (Williamson 47, Pathan 45*, Dhawan 26; Jadeja 1/24)

Chennai Super Kings 181/2 in 18.3 overs (Watson 117*, Raina 32; Brathwaite 1/27)

Chennai Super Kings won by 8 wickets

Man of the Match: Shane Watson

Related Articles

IPL 2020: ‘It does hurt’, Dhoni after their biggest defeat in IPL history

Here’s how CSK can still qualify for playoffs without NRR problems

Tahir reveals a funny flash back of him, running outside the ground after a wicket

Jadeja gives warning to Rohit Sharma’s team ahead of CSK vs MI clash

Kris Srikkanth slams MS Dhoni’s comment over CSK youngsters