Rohit breaks Guptill's record for most sixes in T20I

Rohit Sharma became the hitter with the most sixes in T20Is.

vision mobile

Cricket Passion

Posted -

Updated -

Rohit Sharma became the hitter with the most sixes in T20Is. The 34-year-old reached the milestone in India's second T20I against Australia at the VCA Stadium in Nagpur.

Team India captain Rohit Sharma has set a major world record in T20 international cricket. Hitman Rohit Sharma became the Sixer King in T20I cricket. He achieved that great feat in the second game of the three-game T20 series against Australia in Nagpur. This match only went 8-8 overs due to the wet ground, but Rohit worked wonders as soon as he hit the front six.
The 34-year-old overtook New Zealand's Martin Guptill to become the leading six-hitter in international cricket's shortest format. Before the second T20I, Nagpur-born Rohit was level with Guptill on 172 sixes.
Rohit is now number one, Martin Guptill second and Chris Gayle third in the list of batsmen who have hit the most sixes in T20I cricket. He has hit 124 sixes in 79 games. At the same time, in fourth place is the name of former England captain Eoin Morgan, who hit 120 sixes in this format. Aside from that, Australian team captain Aaron Finch sits fifth with 118 sixes.
At the same time, if we talk about the batsmen who have scored the most runs in this T20 international cricket, then Rohit Sharma remains king in this matter as well. He has scored over 3600 runs in T20I cricket. No cricketer could score more than 3600 runs in men's cricket. Virat Kohli has scored 3586 runs so far. There has long been a race between these two batsmen, which also includes Martin Guptill (3497).
Rohit Sharma also tops the charts for most runs in T20Is
Rohit scored just 11 runs in the first T20I at the PCA Stadium in Mohali before Hazlewood responsible for his wicket in the third over of the Australian run-chase.
Rohit also happens to be the leading run scorer in T20Is, having surpassed Martin Guptill's tally earlier this year. The veteran is also India's second most successful skipper behind the legendary MS Dhoni, who retired from international cricket back in August 2020.
Rohit will lead India at the 2022 T20 World Cup in Australia, to be held later this year from October to November.