Rohit nominated for Khel Ratna award

India star opener Rohit Sharma has been nominated for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award this year, India’s highest sports award. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has also nominated Ishant Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan and Indian women’s all-rounder Deepti Sharma for the Arjuna Award.

Rohit nominated for Khel Ratna award

Rohit showed incredible performance in the 2019 World Cup. The Indian opener was the highest run-getter with 5 centuries. Although he was successful in white ball cricket, the question was in the ability of red ball cricket. But in the last 6 months, Rohit has also shown dominance in Test cricket. He has played 5 Tests as an opener recently and has scored 556 runs at an average of 92.66.

Also Read - Ramesh Powar's influence in Mehidy's cricket career

Earlier, Sachin Tendulkar, MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli have received Khel Ratna awards. This time Rohit will be the fourth cricketer if he gets the award.

BCCI chief Sourav Ganguly said of Rohit’s nomination,

“We have shortlisted the nominated cricketers after much consideration. Rohit Sharma has added a new dimension to the short version of cricket. We think Rohit deserves the Khel Ratna award.”

Regarding the nominations of Ishant, Dhawan and Deepti, Sourav said, “Ishant Sharma is an experienced cricketer in the Test team. Ishant was instrumental in making India the number one Test team. Shikhar has scored regular runs in ICC tournaments. Deepti has played a very important role in the success of the women’s team.”

Related Articles

BCCI introduces new fitness test for Indian players

IPL 2021 to be played with 9 teams: Reports

Jadeja ruled out of Brisbane Test with injury

Kohli condemns racial abuse at SCG

Six Australian fans removed from SCG stands after abusing Siraj