Rohit should lead Team India in ICC World Cup: Twitter users

Mumbai Indians’ skipper Rohit Sharma received tonnes of praises from the fans across India for his incredible captaincy traits which helped the team beat Sunrisers Hyderabad by 40 runs. When Mumbai posted 135/7 batting first, it clearly looked like Sunrisers Hyderabad was holding a cutting edge to seal the deal.

Rohit should lead Team India in ICC World Cup: Twitter users
Rohit Sharma

But the end result was shocking! Sunrisers were skittled out for 96, which is their lowest-ever total in IPL history. What really shocked the fans is that they were bashed at home soil by Mumbai Indians. In the previous edition, Sunrisers did a convincing double over Mumbai Indians by getting the better of them in two occasions and now Rohit & Co got the job done.

Rohit should lead India for World Cup

Besides the result, there were opinions that Rohit Sharma should lead the Indian cricket team in the upcoming ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup as he can bring in new dimensions in the team’s tactical approach. Time and again, we have witnessed great glimpses of Rohit Sharma’s traits in IPL as well as in Indian jersey when Virat Kohli was given the rest.

Also Read - Former SA all-rounder Elriesa Theunissen-Fourie dies in a road accident

People on social media echoed that Rohit knows how to win matches and that he should take over the reigns from Virat Kohli in international cricket. Even as it is not advisable to judge a captain’s strength considering IPL’s record, people still voiced out their support for Rohit Sharma.

Check out the tweets:


The remarks about Rohit to skipper the team went viral on social media after Virat Kohli & Co failed to get off the mark with a win this IPL season. Former England skipper Michael Vaughan too praised Rohit Sharma, saying that, “He is a very very good captain.”


Related Articles

Sachin reacts to Rayudu’s retirement

Indian all-rounder Yuvraj Singh sets to retire from international cricket

Sachin reveals the best bowler in the world

Pollard fined for breaching code of conduct

IPL 2019: Full list of award winners of Indian Premier League 2019