Russell, du Plessis, Miller opt out of LPL

The schedule of Lanka Premier League (LPL) has been finalized after much speculations. However, the trouble hasn’t over yet from the competition.

Russell, Plessis, Malan opt out of LPL

Less than a week after Player’s Draft, four foreigners who made the competition interesting – Andre Russell, Faf du Plessis, David Miller and Dawid Malan – withdrew their name. Manvinder Bisla, another foreigner, will not play in the T20 format tournament with them.

Also Read - IPL 2020: Gayle shines as KXIP register fifth straight win

According to cricket website ESPNcricinfo, Miller, du Plessis and Malan will not be able to play because of the limited-over series between England and South Africa. Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) informed Russell has withdrawn due to injury. However, the reason for Bisla not playing was not known.

The LPL will start from November 21, and England’s tour of South Africa starts on November 27. The English will play three ODIs in this tour, equal T20.

“The franchises that had these players will have to negotiate with other players to take their place,” LPL director Ravin Wickramaratne told ESPNcricinfo.

The Colombo Kings are having the most trouble withdrawing the names of five foreigners. Because they had Russell, du Plessis and Bisla in the team. Malan was taken by Jaffna Stallions.

Related Articles

Gayle picks his top 3 players in T20 cricket

Jamieson could be the next Russell: Gambhir

Abu Dhabi T10 2021: Fixtures, venue, full squads and other important details

When Russell’s wife Lora gave epic reply to troll on Instagram

T10 League 2021: Full squads