Saif to lead U-23s in India

A 15-man Bangladesh U-23 squad has been announced for five-match one-day series in a tour to India to face India U-23s.

Bangladesh U-23 will play five one-dayers against hosts India.


Former Bangladesh U-19 captain Saif Hassan will lead the Bangladeshi side on the tour. Saif has recently captained BCB (Bangladesh Cricket Board) XI in a warm-up T20 match against Zimbabwe where Mushfiqur Rahim played under him.

Also Read - World's largest cricket stadium to be finished by January

Saif has been part of several assignments over the past few months- ‘mini Ranji Trophy’ in India, one-dayers and unofficial Tests against Sri Lanka Emerging team at home.

The other notable names in the squad are: batsman Yasir Ali Chowdhury, wicket-keepers Zakir Hasan and Jaker Ali, all-rounders Mohammad Al-Amin, Ariful Haque and Mahedi Hasan. Mahedi was just left out of senior team’s T20I tri-series squad even though he did not take part in any match.

The squad will leave Dhaka on Tuesday (September 17) morning. The series will commence from September 21 with the first one-dayer. The next four matches will be played on September 21, 23, 25 and 27 respectively. All the matches will be hosted at Lucknow’s Ekana Stadium.

Bangladesh U-23 squad: Saif Hassan (captain), Fardeen Hasan, Mahidul Islam, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Mohammad Al-Amin, Zakir Hasan, Jaker Ali, Ariful Haque, Tanvir Islam, Mahedi Hasan, Manik Khan, Shafiqul Islam, Sumon Khan, Robiul Haque, Sabbir Hossain

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Bangladesh qualify for the Emerging Asia Cup final after Afghanistan victory