Sangakkara-Shoaib lead Multan win the tournament opener

Another enchanting innings from Kumar Sangakkara propelled Multan Sultan to register victory in the opening match of the Pakistan Super League 2018 against Peshawar Zalmi. [বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ ধাক্কা দিয়ে পিএসএল শুরু তামিম-সাব্বিরদের]

Sangakkara-Shoaib lead Multan win the tournament opener

At the Dubai International Stadium in Dubai, Multan Sultan defeated Peshawar Zalmi by 7 wickets.

Also Read - Live: Multan opted to field first, Tamim featuring Zalmi in PSL opener

Despite losing Ahmed Shehzad in the second over, Sangakkara’s solid texture with the bat accompanying Sohaib Maqsood revived the denture of Multan’s innings as they crossed 100 run mark losing 3 wickets in less than 15 overs.

Sangakkara completed his fifty, the first half century of this year’s PSL. His 57 runs came off in 51 balls; he struck 3 fours and 2 sixes.

After Kumar Sangakkara and Sohaib Maqsood both departed from the crease, Shoaib Malik and Kieron Pollard partnered till the end, leaving the field as winners. Malik and Pollard scored 42 and 21 respectively. For Peshawar Zalmi, Wahab Riaz bagged 2 wickets.

In the beginning of the Peshawar Zalmi innings, Bangladesh opener Tamim Iqbal successfully reviewed his decision in favor of him but eventually failed to carry out the innings for long.

The opening partnership between Kamran Akmal and Tamim Iqbal stood for 4 runs; wicket keeper batsman Akmal departed just in the next delivery in which Tamim appealed for a review against a caught behind decision; the television replays did not utter any sound happening between bat and ball.

Tamim genuinely lost his wicket in the third delivery of the fourth over scoring a run a ball 11 with 2 shots of four.

Watch the highlights of the match here-

By the tenth over of the innings, Peshawar Zalmi were three down at the team total of only 57 runs when Mohammad Hafeez took the charge; he and Haris Sohail added another 44 runs in next five overs.

Hafeez contributed highest 59; with 6 shots went to the boundary and one to over boundary, the Pakistani opener faced 52 deliveries.

West Indian hard hitter Darren Sammy’s stormy 29 in 11 balls in a strike rate of more than 200, put Peshawar Zalmi in a competitive position at the end.

At the end of the 20th over, Peshawar Zalmi’s score stood at 151 for the loss of 6 wickets.

Mohammad Irfan captured 2 wickets for Multan Sultan’s.

Brief Score:

Peshawar Zalmi 151/6 (20 overs)
Mohammad Hafeez 59, Darren Sammy 29, Dwayne Smith 24
Mohammad Irfan 2/19, Hardus Vilijoen 1/24, Sohail Tanvir 1/36

Multan Sultan 152/3 (19.1 overs)
Kumar Sangakkara 57, Sohaib Maqsood 21, Shoaib Malik 42*
Mohammad Ashgar 1/18, Wahab Riaz 2/19

Result: Multan Sultan won by 7 wickets
Toss: Multan Sultan.

Related Articles

Jamaica Tallawahs top point table defeating St. Lucia Stars

Watch Pollard blitz gives St Lucia second win

Pollard century ends Stars streak

Bravo 94* powers magical run-chase

WI stars choose PSL ahead of WC Qualifiers